by Jimmy BowskillJimmy Bowskill


$16.69 $16.99 Save 2% Current price is $16.69, Original price is $16.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


There can't be too many musicians who have released their fourth albums at the age of 19, but for Canadian blues singer/guitarist Jimmy Bowskill, this is his first disc not to be self-released, as he has signed to Ruf Records after three albums on his own, starting with Old Soul, which came out when he was about 13. Now a veteran, Bowskill proves to be a blues-rock player with a power trio on this concert date. His basic style had its heyday two decades before his birth, and that style is suggested by the album cover painted by poster artist Bob Masse, who is very much in the '60s San Francisco tradition. It is psychedelic rock, as played by the Jimi Hendrix Experience and Cream, among others. Bowskill's rhythm section of bassist Wayne Deadder and drummer Dan Neill provide support, but the show is all about Bowskill and his electric guitar playing, on which he uses a lot of effects, with a heavy sustain when he isn't using a slide. He also sings in a soulful high tenor. Other major influences are suggested by the inclusion of two songs by Free and one from the Peter Green era of Fleetwood Mac. This music now fits into the "blues" category, but back in 1969, it would have been called rock. Bowskill finally does nod to blues with a ten-minute encore version of B.B. King's "Three O'Clock in the Morning," but that's really the exception that proves the rule. This is blues-rock as they used to play it at the Fillmore, even if they stopped doing so a long time before Jimmy Bowskill made his appearance across the Canadian border.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2010
Label: Ruf
UPC: 0710347115823
catalogNumber: 1158
Rank: 121207


  1. Far From Reality
  2. Rattlesnake Shake
  3. Walk In My Shadows
  4. Loser
  5. Be Mine
  6. Broke Down Engine
  7. Drifting Haze
  8. Diamond Ring
  9. Ride a Pony
  10. Karadag
  11. Three O'Clock In the Morning
  12. Link Into Your Chain

Album Credits

Customer Reviews