Live on the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise

Live on the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise

by Joe Louis Walker


$15.81 $16.99 Save 7% Current price is $15.81, Original price is $16.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Live on the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise

The Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise is one of those excursions on which a batch of musicians are put on a cruise ship with their fans for a few days of playing on the high seas, which makes it an ideal occasion for a live album packed with guests. Joe Louis Walker, appearing with his regular backup band (Linwood Taylor on second guitar, Kevin Burton on keyboards, Henry Oden on bass, and Jeff Minnieweather on drums), welcomes 18 guests on these 11 tracks, most prominent among them Johnny Winter and Duke Robillard. In fact, his interactions with such fellow guitarists are among the high points on the disc. Walker revisits his own repertoire, dating back to his debut album, Cold Is the Night ("Ten More Shows to Play") and its follow-up, The Gift ("747"), along with tracks from his last couple of records. His is an electric blues sound that, while rooted in tradition, also came along after such blues-rock acts as the Jimi Hendrix Experience and Cream, and there are occasional echoes of that style. It may be that, given the circumstances, the players were inclined to let themselves go a bit more than usual; after all, nobody had to worry about driving home. In any case, the arrangements can be stretched out to the point of being a little loose and ragged, and the singing, while enthusiastic, can be too. Most of that singing is done by Walker himself, and it's possible that he makes a point in a sleeve note of saying the album has no overdubs or fixes as a way of explaining the occasional croakiness in his voice. Such imperfections are more than offset, however, by the enthusiasm with which everybody plays.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2010
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532135320
catalogNumber: 321353
Rank: 103689

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Louis Walker   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Kenny Neal   Harmonica
Mitch Woods   Piano
Duke Robillard   Guitar
Johnny Winter   Guitar
Mike Finnigan   Organ,Vocals
Deanna Bogart   Tenor Saxophone
Tab Benoit   Guitar
Kevin Burton   Organ,Piano
Tommy Castro   Guitar
Keith Crossan   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jeff Minnieweather   Drums
Nick Moss   Guitar
Paul Nelson   Guitar
Henry Oden   Bass
Tom Poole   Trumpet
Curtis Salgado   Vocals
Paris Slim   Guitar
Kirk Fletcher   Guitar
Todd Sharpville   Guitar
Linwood Taylor   Guitar
Watermelon Slim   Harmonica
Jason Ricci   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Joe Louis Walker   Composer,Producer
Duke Robillard   Composer
Nick Gravenites   Composer
Deadric Malone   Composer
J.J. Malone   Composer
Holger Petersen   Executive Producer
Dennis Walker   Composer
Amos Blakemore   Composer
Joe Russo   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Travis Phillips   Composer
Steve Spirn   Engineer
Michael Dangelmaier   Artwork
David L. Jones   Executive Producer,Management
Haskell Sadler   Composer
Hans Freistatter   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews