Lives, Volume IX: Demetrius and Antony. Pyrrhus and Gaius Marius

Lives, Volume IX: Demetrius and Antony. Pyrrhus and Gaius Marius

Hardcover(6th printing/1st pub.1920)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Plutarch (Plutarchus), ca. 45—120 CE, was born at Chaeronea in Boeotia in central Greece, studied philosophy at Athens, and, after coming to Rome as a teacher in philosophy, was given consular rank by the emperor Trajan and a procuratorship in Greece by Hadrian. He was married and the father of one daughter and four sons. He appears as a man of kindly character and independent thought, studious and learned.

Plutarch wrote on many subjects. Most popular have always been the 46 Parallel Lives, biographies planned to be ethical examples in pairs (in each pair, one Greek figure and one similar Roman), though the last four lives are single. All are invaluable sources of our knowledge of the lives and characters of Greek and Roman statesmen, soldiers and orators. Plutarch's many other varied extant works, about 60 in number, are known as Moralia or Moral Essays. They are of high literary value, besides being of great use to people interested in philosophy, ethics and religion.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of the Lives is in eleven volumes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674991125
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1920
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #101
Edition description: 6th printing/1st pub.1920
Pages: 640
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

Bernadotte Perrin (1847–1920) was Lampson Professor of Greek Literature and History at Yale University.

Table of Contents

Prefatory Note

Order Of The Lives In This Edition

Traditional Order Of The Lives




Comparison Of Demetrius And Antony


Caius Marius

Dictionary Of Proper Names

Customer Reviews