Livin' on the Fault Line

Livin' on the Fault Line

by The Doobie Brothers


$12.34 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 2 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Livin' on the Fault Line

Livin' on the Fault Line fell between two of the Doobie Brothers' biggest-selling records. The album had no hit singles, and one-time leader Tom Johnston kept a markedly low profile (this would be his last record with the group, not including a later reunion). Despite this, Livin' on the Fault Line contains some of the most challenging and well-developed music of the band's career, with Patrick Simmons and Michael McDonald really stepping to the fore. There's a vague mood of melancholia running through the songs, as well as a definite jazz influence. This is most obvious on the title track, which has several instrumental passages that showcase the guitar abilities of Simmons and Jeff Baxter. Similarly, "Chinatown" is a spooky mood piece not unlike the smooth fusion of late-period Steely Dan or Little Feat. But "Echoes of Love" and "Nothin' But a Heartache" are both intelligent, glistening pop songs that confirm Simmons and McDonald as first-rate tunesmiths. The record slips a little at the end, with a plodding R&B song and a Piedmont guitar instrumental thrown in as filler. Overall, though, this is a chapter in the Doobie Brothers' history that deserves a second look.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0075992731522
catalogNumber: 3045
Rank: 55522

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doobie Brothers   Primary Artist
Michael McDonald   Keyboards,Vocals
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Vibes
Norton Buffalo   Harmonica
Tom Johnston   Guitar,Vocals
Patrick Simmons   Guitar,Vocals
Dan Armstrong   Sitar,Electric Sitar
Jeff Baxter   Guitar,Steel Guitar
Rosemary Butler   Vocals,Background Vocals
Keith Knudsen   Drums,Vocals
Bobby LaKind   Conductor,Conga,Vocals
Maureen McDonald   Vocals,Background Vocals
Tiran Porter   Bass,Vocals
Ted Templeman   Percussion
John Hartman   Drums

Technical Credits

Donn Landee   Engineer
David Paich   String Arrangements
Bruce Steinberg   Art Direction,Cover Design
Ted Templeman   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews