Pub. Date:
McGraw-Hill Higher Education
Living with Art / Edition 4

Living with Art / Edition 4

by Rita Gilbert


View All Available Formats & Editions
Current price is , Original price is $62.5. You
Select a Purchase Option
  • purchase options


Living with Art / Edition 4

Over its five editions,Living with Art has become the "gold standard," the book against which all other art appreciation texts are judged. The uniquely clear and comprehensive discussion of the themes,purposes,and elements of art lays a solid foundation for majors and non-majors alike to progress to sections on art media and history. This was the first book to pay close attention to the coordination of the art and the text,designing the layout so that all art appeared on or facing the page on which it was discussed. The accuracy of the color and quality of the reproductions have remained unmatched in five editions. Finally,this text has,from the first,offered the widest representation of diverse artists,cultures,media,and time periods,with greater inclusion of women,artists of color,crafts,and contemporary art. Each copy of the book comes with a free ancillary package including a timeline,Writing Guide,Projects Manual,Pronunciation Guide,and Overlays.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780079117946
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Higher Education
Publication date: 10/28/1994
Pages: 576
Product dimensions: 8.61(w) x 10.93(h) x 1.28(d)

Table of Contents

Part A: The Renaissance And Baroque Periods
Chp. 1: Late Renaissance Polyphony
Chp. 2: Two-Voice Eighteenth Century Counterpoint
Chp. 3: The Fugue
Part B: Chromatic Harmony
Chp. 4: Borrowed Chords
Chp. 5: Neapolitan 6th Chords
Chp. 6: Augmented 6th Chords
Part C: The Classical Period (1750-1825)
Chp. 7: Variation Technique
Chp. 8: Sonata Form
Chp. 9: Rondo Forms
Part D: Extended And Chromatic Harmony
Chp. 10: 9th,11th, and 13th Chords
Chp. 11: Altered Dominants
Chp. 12: Chromatic Mediants
Part E: The Nineteenth And Twentieth Centuries
Chp. 13: The Romantic Period (1825-1900)
Chp. 14: The Post-Romantic Impressionistic, and Related Styles
Chp. 15: The Contemporary Period (1910-1945)
Chp. 16: Twelve-Tone Technique
Postlude: Music Since 1945

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews