Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


LL 77

In an interview in Lucy O'Brien's book She Bop, Lisa Lisa expressed her desire to "come out on her own and grow up" on LL 77, her first post-Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam album. Enlisting a whole cavalcade of funky New Yorkers (Nona Hendryx, Junior Vasquez, Giovanni Salah, Guru), LL 77 is a spotty debut, but promising enough that it should have warranted a follow-up. From the opening downtown girl chatter to the studio talk that segues some of the songs, it's obvious Lisa Lisa feels more at home in the album's urban landscape than the glistening pop Cult Jam recorded. "Why Can't Lovers" and "Covers" both deal with sex without love being better than being alone, and "I'm Open" speaks to the creative and reflective benefits of marijuana -- hardly Cult Jam material! There's an acceptable amount of bland filler on LL 77, but most of the album comes off as a more streetwise and sensible Prince production (Prince-protégé-gone-AWOL Jill Jones contributes some songwriting). The album's dreamy single, "Skip to My Lu," failed to climb the charts like Cult Jam did, and Lisa Lisa was relieved of her major label duties.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/1994
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724382817222
catalogNumber: 28172

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lisa Lisa   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Nona Hendryx   Synthesizer,Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Lydia Rhodes   Background Vocals
Giovanni Salah   Bass,Harmonica,Percussion,Bass Drums,Keyboards,Saxophone,Loops
Chandra Armstead   Background Vocals
Robert Bailey   Guitar
Candy Bell   Background Vocals
Kysia Bostic   Background Vocals
Rob Chastain   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Saxophone,Loops
Debbie Cole   Background Vocals
Ronald Drayton   Guitar
Eddie Krakaur   Saxophone
Kati Mac   Background Vocals
Warren McRae   Drums,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Overdubs
Jenny Douglas McRea   Background Vocals
P. Dennis Mitchell   Background Vocals
Jimmy Ridao   Guitar
Sabelle   Vocals,Background Vocals
Zhana Saunders   Background Vocals
Vivian Sessoms   Background Vocals
Tony Shimkin   Keyboards
Dan Wilensky   Flute,Saxophone
Junior Vasquez   Background Vocals
Jennie Douglas McRae   Background Vocals
Ronnie Drayton   Guitar
Joey Moskowitz   Keyboards
Rob Bailey   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lisa Lisa   Contributor
Albert Collins   Composer
Nona Hendryx   Composer,Producer
Lydia Rhodes   Composer
Guru   Producer
Giovanni Salah   Composer,Producer
Rob Chastain   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Mark Goodman   Engineer
Eddie Krakaur   Programming,Engineer
Mark Mason   Engineer
P. Dennis Mitchell   Engineer
Rob Paustian   Engineer
Reuben Rodriguez   Executive Producer
Tony Shimkin   Programming
Joey Vasquez   Composer,Producer
Merv DePyere   Programming
Junior Vasquez   Producer
Dennis Wheeler   Executive Producer
Henry Marquez   Art Direction
Marc Cozza   Cover Design
Joey Moskowitz   Programming
Liz Loblack   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews