Lone Star Protector

Lone Star Protector

by Jennie Jones


$17.09 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25


If you don’t fight for what you love, you won’t know what you’ve lost

When Lauren Mackillop’s shady business partner gambles away her small business, she heads home to Surrender in Calamity Valley, Texas, to lick her wounds and plan her next move. But she walks straight into another battle to thwart a development company’s scheme to take over their charming Texas haven. Determined to safeguard her town, her senses are on alert when the sexy stranger she flirted with while briefly stranded at LAX turns up as the new owner of the saloon. Something’s going on, and this time, Lauren isn’t going to give in without a fight.

Mark Sterrett has trouble on his heels and more on the way. To protect his family’s reputation from ruin he’s been tasked with ensuring this land deal goes through. But he’s up against more than he bargained for. Making his life more complicated, he’s drawn to the intriguing and enticing Lauren and as their attraction simmers and the threat to the town heightens, Mark wonders if he can get through the next two weeks with his conscience and his heart intact.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781949707472
Publisher: Tule Publishing Group, LLC
Publication date: 02/26/2019
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.85(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lone Star Protector 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Shweetsandi 11 months ago
This is the second book in the Calamity Valley series that is based in my state of Texas. Author, Jeannie Jones has given us readers a really fun read that starts in Cali and makes it way to our fine state. What I love about this book is right from the start we get humor with Lauren's relatives who have passed over talking to her and letting her know about things that are going to happen (and we get a peek that she did not listen to them in the past as well.) This is the second book in the series and while you do not have to have read the first book to enjoy this onem i will say it is a good book that i recommend as well. The first book is about Molly's town Hopeless and this one is based in Lauren's town of Surrender. Yes all in Calamity Valley and there is a reason for the theme of the names which you will find out when you read the books. This is a romance with a touch of comedy. I am so looking forward to the next book in the series!
Splashesintobooks1 12 months ago
Like your stories with suspense, a family curse and inherited paranormal abilities being used to thwart big business developers out to take over the valley? Look no further - this has got the lot as well as plenty of humorous moments, strange happenings and great community spirit working together. Calamity Valley has three small towns - Hopeless, Surrender and Reckless. Each has its own member of the Mackillop family living there, and each older member of the family has their own unique and special mystic way inherited from their maternal ancestors. They need their powers to help free their communities from the curses put on them by the Great Grandfathers - aka the GGs - which meant all the men who courted the Mackillop ladies left. The first story in the series is Lone Star Hero and that concerns the Hopeless community. This is the second story in the series and is about Surrender. I believe that it can be read as a standalone but it does include many characters introduced in the first story and follows on from events in it, too. Lauren Mackillop is returning to her home in Surrender after being  duped by her business partner. Mark Sterrett is moving there to take over the lease on the saloon. The two meet accidentally in the airport but both play roles rather than tell the truth. Both have secrets but only by learning to trust and work together can they thwart both the developers and the curse as well as have any chance at finding love together. This is a fun, engaging read that had me laughing out loud. I'd enjoyed the first story in the series and this was equally as entertaining - I can't wait to read the next one! I requested and was given a copy of this book, via NetGalley. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.
DJTP 12 months ago
Lone Star Protector by Jennie Jones, book two in the Calamity Valley series. The story of Lauren coming back home and Mark who isn't who everyone thinks he is. Likable characters and setting. I look forward to reading more by author.
CatmomJD 12 months ago
An imaginative and highly entertaining story. It was no secret that all of the Mackillop women possessed mystical powers and that they were cursed. But, was it possible to break the curse? Lauren is about to find out when she returns to her hometown of Surrender, Texas, after her life fell apart in California. Lauren was needed to help restore Surrender and prevent Donaldson’s Property Development from swooping in and buying up the town. The one thing Lauren didn’t expect to happen was to run into the man she met at the airport; the one who kissed her and caused visions of the future to appear. Mark Sterrett was being blackmailed. He would do anything to protect his family from the dangerous people who were making threats against them. The one thing Mark didn’t see happening was for him to fall for the woman he was supposed to be watching. As he got to know Lauren, he wanted to help her too. This put Mark in a sticky situation, but with a little luck and some good planning, he might be able to save his family, Lauren and the whole town of Surrender. This is the second book in the Calamity Valley series, but it can be read as a stand-alone. In fact, I never had the chance to read the first book, but I will definitely be going back to read it soon. The author’s writing style felt so real, like I was part of the story. The book started out a little slow but I was glad I stuck with it. It was such a fun book to read. It is filled with action and interesting characters.