Long Ride Home

Long Ride Home

by Darrell Scott


$12.26 $12.99 Save 6% Current price is $12.26, Original price is $12.99. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Long Ride Home

Darrell Scott could have padded out his seventh album with some of the hits he's penned for country music heavies, but he cares too much for the craft of songwriting and his audience to take the easy way out. Like his last album, Long Ride Home was recorded at his home studio, but this time he invited along a bunch of musician friends to help flesh out the tunes. The core band is Scott on guitar, Hargus "Pig" Robbins on piano, Dennis Crouch on standup bass, and drummer Kenny Malone, all hardcore Nashville pros with thousands of hits to their collective names. The songs are an autobiographical sketch of Scott's early years, full of details about family, friends, hard times, and good old country music. "Hopkinsville," a honky tonk rocker about hard work and hard living, features harmony vocals from Rodney Crowell and deep bluesy piano work from Robbins. Scott co-wrote "Out in the Parking Lot" with Guy Clark, who shares lead vocals with him. It's a subtle, folksy portrait of good ol' boys getting plastered behind a bar as they watch their lives unwind, for better or worse. "Too Close to Comfort" is a cheatin' song with a conscience that doesn't downplay the moral ambiguity of unfaithful liaisons. Tim O'Brien and John Cowan add wailing harmonies to Scott's distressing lead vocal. The ragtime-flavored "No Use Living for Today" is a jaunty lament that makes hard times sound like fun and brings to mind the songs of Jimmie Rodgers. "The Country Boy" tells the story of a country singer from cradle to grave, in three succinct verses and a poignant chorus, with Robbins contributing another impressive turn on piano. This 16-song set is over an hour long, a generous musical and spiritual offering from a songwriter who never talks down to his audience.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2012
Label: Full Light Records
UPC: 0794504328400
catalogNumber: 432840
Rank: 166906

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Darrell Scott   Primary Artist,Pedal Steel Guitar,Vocals
Guy Clark   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Rodney Crowell   Vocals
Lloyd Green   Pedal Steel Guitar
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica
Kathy Chiavola   Vocals
John Cowan   Vocals
Dennis Crouch   Upright Bass
Patty Griffin   Vocals
Marcus Hummon   Vocals
Kenny Malone   Drums
Jonell Mosser   Vocals
Tim O'Brien   Mandolin,Vocals
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
Wayne Scott   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Guy Clark   Composer
Marcus Hummon   Composer
Darrell Scott   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Jim Rushing   Composer
Matt Mangano   Engineer
Steven Lotz   Engineer
Wayne Scott   Composer
Stephanie Hudacek   Engineer,Back Cover Photo
Tia Sillars   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews