The Long Way Home: A Novel

The Long Way Home: A Novel

by Robin Pilcher
4.1 23

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$9.93
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Long Way Home: A Novel by Robin Pilcher

"The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller."—Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.
When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she's more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property.
But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire's old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo's caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas's motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo's house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive.
The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781429928892
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 03/30/2010
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 178,282
File size: 600 KB

About the Author

ROBIN PILCHER has worked as a farmer, assistant film cameraman, and PR consultant. An Ocean Apart, his first novel, was a New York Times bestseller and a favorite among Pilcher fans, old and new. The Long Way Home is his fifth novel.


Robin Pilcher is the son of bestselling novelist Rosamunde Pilcher. His first three novels, An Ocean Apart, Starting Over, and A Risk Worth Taking were New York Times bestsellers. He lives in Dundee, Scotland.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Long Way Home 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Claire Barrington loves her Scottish stepfather Leo Barclay who is her only living relative besides her spouse Art. So when Leo suffers a stroke, Claire accompanied by Art leaves New York's East Village and their restaurant Barrington's to help Leo recuperate. However, the man she adores and who has called her daughter for years making her feel good about life is not the same as he is no longer capable of caring for himself. Claire prefers to arrange things as much as possible so Leo can remain home; Art suggests they buy the estate and establish a conference center while building a nearby cottage for Leo to reside in. The vultures arrive with plans and schemes. Marcus and Charity, his children from his first marriage who never forgave their dad for marrying Claire's mom and raising her; want him placed in a home so they can sell the place. Claire's childhood friend Jonas Fairweather suggests a public auction to raise money for Leo's care. Remaining competent, Leo chooses Jonas' concept, but Claire distrusts her friend's motive when another bidder surfaces who she assumes will want to tear down the place and replace it with a major development. The story line is an entertaining look at how relatives act when a beloved elderly family member becomes too ill to care for themselves, but remains mentally competent. Leo is the terrific focus of the rest of key players as each has different ideas re his future. Although his malicious offspring and the contriving scheming childhood friend never come across as more than as more than one dimensional boors, fans will enjoy the three way fight as Claire and Art want the best for Leo while hurtful Marcus, horrid Charity, and opportunistic Jonas want the best for themselves. Harriet Klausner
Barbara Mccahill More than 1 year ago
This+book+is+not+a+page+turner.+The+characters+are+not+interesting+or+well+developed.+The+storyline+is+trite+and+very+predictable.+I+am+sorry+I+bought+it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tjt More than 1 year ago
By far Robin Pilcher at his best. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago