Looking for the

Looking for the "Harp" Quartet:: An Investigation into Musical Beauty

by Markand Thakar


$35.96 $39.95 Save 10% Current price is $35.96, Original price is $39.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week


This book is a philosophical tour through the experience of beauty: what it is, and how the composer, performer, and listener all contribute. It explores — with insight, patience, and humor — profound issues at the essence of our experience. A student performance of Beethoven's String Quartet No. 10 in E-Flat Major, known as the "Harp," serves as a point of departure and a recurring theme. For the layperson the core of the book is five dialogues between Icarus, an inquiring student intensely concerned with fulfilling his highest potential as a musician, and Daedalus, a curmudgeonly, iconoclastic teacher who guides Icarus's search. Three technical articles, geared to the music professional and academic, treat the issues in greater depth. Supplementary online audio files and musical examples. Markand Thakar is music director of the Baltimore Chamber Orchestra. A protégé of the legendary Sergiu Celibidache and former assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic, has appeared with over forty orchestras across North America and around the world. He is author of On the Principles and Practice of Conducting (University of Rochester Press, 2016) and Counterpoint: Fundamentals of Music Making (Yale University Press, 1990).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781580465472
Publisher: Boydell & Brewer, Limited
Publication date: 09/01/2015
Series: Eastman Studies in Music Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 227
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.60(d)

Table of Contents

Note about Online Supporting Material
Looking for the "Harp" Quartet
Renoir and the Survival of Classical Music: On the Listener's Contribution
Let's Be Mookie: On the Composer's Contribution
Gurus: On the Performer's Contribution
First, Last, and Always
Remembrance of Things Future: On the Listener's Contribution
Patterns of Energy: On the Composer's Contribution
Dynamic Analysis: On the Performer's Contribution
Appendix: Forms

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews