Looks Like Love

Looks Like Love

by Brandy Bruce

Paperback

$19.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

Following a break-up with her boyfriend, an unfulfilling career, and a general bad taste in clothes, Kasey Addison feels lost in her own life. With the help of her best friend, Amanda, Kasey embarks on an unexpected journey to rediscover life and love, starting with a whirlwind London jaunt. Surrounded by red telephone booths, double-decker buses, and men in fuzzy black hats, Kasey falls in love with mud baths, Jane Austen, and stone cathedrals. And in the middle of London she meets Lincoln Davis, a Texan with a really great tan, and her life gets even more unrecognizable.

When her spur-of-the-moment vacation is over, Kasey, a junior marketing consultant, finds herself on the marketing team for LETA, a growing cosmetics company. Kasey's thrown into the fast-paced world of promotional galas, photo shoots, and magazine interviews. When the owners of LETA decide to release their very first fragrance, Kasey's new assignment is to find out what love looks like and then find a way to sell it. With the help of Amanda and a few new friends, and with a rekindled relationship with the Lover of her soul, Kasey discovers that sometimes love looks like what we least expect.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781449707019
Publisher: Nelson, Thomas, Inc.
Publication date: 12/07/2010
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.58(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Looks Like Love 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
ReviewsbyMolly on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have ALWAYS wanted to go to England, and that's just where I got to go when I sat down and opened this FANTABULOUS book by new author, Brandy Bruce. Her writing style is unique and blends happiness, loneliness, sadness, anger and God's sacrificial love all in one GREATtastic plot line! I loved all of the characters in this awesome debut novel. They each had flaws about them, but they fit their roles perfectly. Kasey's character was dearest to my heart. She just wanted to love and know what true love felt like in return, even though she was in a relationship for 8 years. But, in doing so, she needed to accept that sometimes sacrifices are what it takes to find that inner peace and happiness and love along the way, that can only be from God Himself. I prayed for Kasey's character throughout that she would accept His way and not her own. I loved how Bruce blended Kasey's character so well with Lincoln's character. Lincoln is a guy that any single woman would benefit from befriending! His character was so sweet and God really shined through, through Lincoln. He really added a deep meaning to the story. Definitely a 4 star novel. I highly recommend it to all and it's one I'll gladly keep on my shelf to read again and again. Hats off to a very talented Brandy Bruce and I can't wait for more of her novels!
EA_Hendryx More than 1 year ago
Looks Like Love will leave you grinning like your crush just asked you on a date! This book was sweet, funny, and real in the most beautiful combination. I jumped right in one Saturday morning and was hooked. Reading it was like talking to a really good friend who decided to let you into their life one day. It's written in first person so you really get to know Kasey well. I appreciated Kasey's character because, though there are times you're frustrated with her and yelling at the book (um, maybe that was just me?) because you know she's making a mistake...you also see how real she is and what it truly takes for a person to grow. I also really enjoyed Brandy's life-perspective. That may sound strange, but it is a Christian romance and yet you find realness in these pages. Kasey isn't perfect. She doesn't always turn to God when she should (just as we all don't do that every time we should) and we get to see what happens to her through it all. The good, the bad, the difficult, and the beautiful. And through it all there is the sweet fragrance of love. And Lincoln... *sigh* He wasn't perfect either (another thing I appreciated) but he was real, sweet, honest, and a great "hero" for Kasey. I found myself appreciating the circumstances they both found themselves in because, again, it was real. He had flaws just as she did. The only thing I would say is that there were a few sections that felt very much like we were just being told what happened in a list of "then this happened, then this" etc. Those parts were a little sluggish to me and momentarily took away from the sweetness of their story. In all, a definite recommend from me if you enjoy sweet romance or Christian romance. This book will leave you feeling happy and leave you thinking about love in the best way! _______________ I received this book for free but was under no obligation to post a review. I do so under my own motivation and the opinions I have expressed in this review are honest and entirely my own.
WildflowerMom More than 1 year ago
Readers who enjoy a clean contemporary romance with flawed people, emotional tension, and a bit of faith, will probably enjoy this one. Kasey is someone any single career girl can probably relate to, striving to succeed in her job, hoping to be married someday, but wanting to achieve her career goals. The story has a lot more going on under the surface, touching on themes like loneliness, figuring out what real love is, how to be a true friend, putting up healthy boundaries in work situations, learning to forgive, trusting after being hurt, and finding a living faith. I especially liked the inspirational moments when Kasey is reminded that "God is near to the brokenhearted...", and that His plans are for our good, helping her overcome her hurt and move forward. Recommend to fans of Kara Isaac, Beth Moran and clean contemporary romances with faith elements. 3.5 stars (Book provided by the author. All opinions are my own.)
WildflowerMom More than 1 year ago
Readers who enjoy a clean contemporary romance with flawed people, emotional tension, and a bit of faith, will probably enjoy this one. Kasey is someone any single career girl can probably relate to, striving to succeed in her job, hoping to be married someday, but wanting to achieve her career goals. The story has a lot more going on under the surface, touching on themes like loneliness, figuring out what real love is, how to be a true friend, putting up healthy boundaries in work situations, learning to forgive, trusting after being hurt, and finding a living faith. I especially liked the inspirational moments when Kasey is reminded that "God is near to the brokenhearted...", and that His plans are for our good, helping her overcome her hurt and move forward. Recommend to fans of Kara Isaac, Beth Moran and clean contemporary romances with faith elements. 3.5 stars (Book provided by the author. All opinions are my own.)
BookReviewsByMolly More than 1 year ago
I have ALWAYS wanted to go to England, and that's just where I got to go when I sat down and opened this FANTABULOUS book by new author, Brandy Bruce. Her writing style is unique and blends happiness, loneliness, sadness, anger and God's sacrificial love all in one GREATtastic plot line! I loved all of the characters in this awesome debut novel. They each had flaws about them, but they fit their roles perfectly. Kasey's character was dearest to my heart. She just wanted to love and know what true love felt like in return, even though she was in a relationship for 8 years. But, in doing so, she needed to accept that sometimes sacrifices are what it takes to find that inner peace and happiness and love along the way, that can only be from God Himself. I prayed for Kasey's character throughout that she would accept His way and not her own. I loved how Bruce blended Kasey's character so well with Lincoln's character. Lincoln is a guy that any single woman would benefit from befriending! His character was so sweet and God really shined through, through Lincoln. He really added a deep meaning to the story. Definitely a 4 star novel. I highly recommend it to all and it's one I'll gladly keep on my shelf to read again and again. Hats off to a very talented Brandy Bruce and I can't wait for more of her novels!
lookslikelovefan More than 1 year ago
Brandy Bruce has captured a growing audience and with the turn of every page she has you wanting more! Looks Like Love is an absolute must read for girls of various ages and interests. The plot is so clever, and the ideas are true and refreshing! I highly recommend! :)
AGirlsBookshelf More than 1 year ago
Sweet story with lots of humor. I loved the parts in England. I love books involving travel (like Sisterchicks by Robin Gunn) so that was extra fun. Light, fun, easy read.
AllAboutTheBooks More than 1 year ago
Hilarious and sweet. For fans of Kristin Billerbeck, Jenny B. Jones, or Tracey Bateman--this is your kind of love story. An easy, enjoyable read for any woman whose ever felt a little lost in her own life, in need of adventure and change and a little boost of self-esteem. I highly recommend!
shanson More than 1 year ago
I absolutely fell in love with this book! Brandy's characters come to life in these pages and her theme of true love is told in a fresh, fantastical way. Read it, you won't regret it!