Lost Cause (Seven Series)

Lost Cause (Seven Series)

by John Wilson


$9.59 $9.95 Save 4% Current price is $9.59, Original price is $9.95. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


Steve thinks a trip to Europe is out of the question—until he hears his grandfather's will. Suddenly he's off to Spain, armed with only a letter from his grandfather that sends him to a specific address in Barcelona. There he meets a girl named Laia and finds a trunk containing some of his grandfather's possessions, including a journal he kept during the time he fought with the International Brigades in the Spanish Civil War. Steve decides to trace his grandfather's footsteps through Spain, and with Laia's help, he visits the battlefields and ruined towns that shaped his grandfather's young life, and begins to understand the power of history and the transformative nature of passion for a righteous cause.

Steve's adventures start in The Missing Skull, part of The Seven Prequels and continue in Broken Arrow, part of The Seven Sequels.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781554699445
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
Publication date: 10/10/2012
Series: Seven (the series)
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 639,761
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile: 850L (what's this?)
Age Range: 10 - 17 Years

About the Author

Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, John Wilson grew up on the Isle of Skye and outside Glasgow, without the slightest idea that he would ever write books. After obtaining a degree in geology from the University of St. Andrews, he worked in Zimbabwe and Alberta before taking up writing full time and moving to Vancouver Island in 1991. John is the author of numerous articles, essays, poems and reviews, and almost fifty novels and nonfiction books for kids, teens and adults. He was a finalist for the Governor General's Literary Award (The Alchemist's Dream, 2007), and his books have won or been short-listed for most Canadian children's-literature prizes. For more information, visit johnwilsonauthor.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lost Cause 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
Orca's The Seven Series gives us seven authors each writing the story of one of David McLean's grandsons.  During the reading of David's will, four of his daughters and six of his grandsons learn that David left letters instructing each grandson to complete a task.  At the same time, they learn there was another daughter and another grandson.  A family tree showing David's descendents and the book covers in which each is the protagonist, and a map showing where each grandson will travel, are good additions in the front of the book.  This book finds Steve travelling to Spain, following his grandfather's footsteps via a journal found in a trunk left in-country from the Spanish Civil War.  David volunteered to fight during the war and hoped to return to Spain to retrieve the trunk and another very important item but he wasn't able to make the trip.  Steve learns about a side of his grandfather he never knew as he learns about a period of history which he was ignorant about.  Well done.