Pub. Date:
Lost on the River [Bonus Tracks]

Lost on the River [Bonus Tracks]

by The New Basement TapesThe New Basement Tapes

CD(Special Edition)

$9.79 $13.99 Save 30% Current price is $9.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


When a clutch of unfinished lyrics written during Bob Dylan's 1967 sojourn at Big Pink in Woodstock, New York was discovered in 2013, there were really only two choices left for his publisher: either they could be collected as text or set to music. Once the decision to turn these words into songs was made, there was really only one logical choice to direct the project: T-Bone Burnett, the master of impressionistic Americana. He had played with Dylan during the Rolling Thunder Revue of 1975 and 1976 -- a tour that happened to occur in the wake of the first official release of The Basement Tapes -- but more importantly, his 2002 work on the Grammy-winning O Brother Where Art Thou? soundtrack established him as deft modernizer of classic American folk and country, skills that were needed for an album that wound up called Lost on the River. Burnett decided to assemble a loose-knit band of Americana superstars to write the music and play as a band. That's how Burnett's old pal Elvis Costello, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes, Marcus Mumford of Mumford & Sons, and Rhiannon Giddens of the Carolina Chocolate Drops became a band called the New Basement Tapes (the name seems more of a formality than an actual moniker), and if Burnett's intent was to approximate the communal spirit Dylan had with the Band at Big Pink, the execution was much different. The New Basement Tapes recorded Lost on the River in a real studio fully aware there was an audience awaiting their output, an attitude that's the polar opposite of the ramshackle joshing around of the original Basement Tapes. Thankfully, nobody involved with Lost on the River contrives to replicate either the sound or feel of the 1967 sessions, even if the artists consciously pick up the strands of country, folk, and soul dangling on the originals. Wisely, the songwriters steer their given lyrics toward their own wheelhouses, which means this contains a little of the woolliness of a collective but Burnett sands off the rough edges, tying this all together. Certainly, some musicians make their presence known more than others -- there's a slow, soulful ease to James' four contributions that stand in nice contrast to Costello's canny bluster ("Married to My Hack" would've fit onto any EC album featuring Marc Ribot) -- but the best work might come from Goldsmith, who strikes a delicate, beguiling balance between his own idiosyncrasies and the Americana currents that flow out of The Basement Tapes. Then again, the whole project is rather impressive: Burnett and the New Basement Tapes remain faithful to the spirit of The Basement Tapes yet take enough liberties to achieve their own identity, which is a difficult trick to achieve. [Lost on the River was also released with five bonus tracks.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2014
Label: Electro Magnetic
UPC: 0602537950140
catalogNumber: 795014
Rank: 87423


  1. Down on the Bottom
  2. Married to My Hack
  3. Kansas City
  4. Spanish Mary
  5. Liberty Street
  6. Nothing to It
  7. Golden Tom-Silver Judas
  8. When I Get My Hands on You
  9. Duncan and Jimmy
  10. Florida Key
  11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
  12. Lost on the River #12
  13. Stranger
  14. Card Shark
  15. Quick Like a Flash
  16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16
  17. Diamond Ring
  18. The Whistle Is Blowing
  19. Six Months In Kasas City (Liberty Street)
  20. Lost on the River #20

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Basement Tapes   Primary Artist
Elvis Costello   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Ukulele,Vocals,Mellotron,Slide Guitar,Mandocaster,Guitar (Electric Tenor),Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Bob Dylan   Handwriting
Carla Azar   Drums
T Bone Burnett   Electric Guitar
Jay Bellerose   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine
Johnny Depp   Electric Guitar
Jim James   Organ,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Mellotron
Bo Koster   Piano
Taylor Goldsmith   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Mellotron,Guitar (Baritone)
Binki Shapiro   Background Vocals
Megan Lovell   Background Vocals
Rebecca Lovell   Background Vocals
Griffin Goldsmith   Drums
Rhiannon Giddens   Banjo,Fiddle,Vocals
Marcus Mumford   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Drums,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Brushes,Vocal Harmony
Este Haim   Background Vocals
Alana Haim   Background Vocals
Danielle Haim   Background Vocals
Zach Dawes   Bass
Jessica Kiley   Background Vocals
S.I. Istwa   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Elvis Costello   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer,Drawing
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Tim Mech   Instrument Technician
Larry Jenkins   Executive Producer
Mike Piersante   Engineer
Jacob Riis   Cover Photo
Merrick Morton   Inside Photo
Jim James   Composer
Nicole Frantz   Art Direction
Curtis Laur   Instrument Technician
Taylor Goldsmith   Composer
Rhiannon Giddens   Composer
Marcus Mumford   Composer

Customer Reviews