Louis Spohr: 3 Sonatas for Harp & Violin

Louis Spohr: 3 Sonatas for Harp & Violin

by Masumi NagasawaMasumi Nagasawa

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


A celebrated composer, violinist, and conductor, Louis Spohr was one of the major figures in German music during the early Romantic era, and his reputation was enhanced by his special knack for innovations. One of the first to conduct with a baton, Spohr also invented the chinrest for the violin and the viola, and rehearsal letters in musical scores. He also designed a special carriage for use whenever he and his wife, harpist Dorette Scheidler, toured together; it was constructed to hold his violin in one compartment and her harp in another, thus creating more room for passengers. Spohr's handful of compositions for violin and harp have received some extra attention because of that biographical tidbit, and the handful of recordings usually include the three concertante sonatas, Opp. "113," "114," and "115," which are presented on this 2018 BIS release by violinist Cecilia Bernardini and harpist Masumi Nagasawa. Stylistically Mozartian and predictably light in character, these sonatas reflect Spohr's proclivity for flashy violin parts yet also offer equally virtuosic accompaniments for the harp. The sonatas are performed on period instruments -- a violin from 1743 and a single-action pedal harp from 1815 -- so Bernardini and Nagasawa re-create the sounds of the time, and their playing is appealing, though a little hazy in the highly resonant church acoustics.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2018
Label: Bis
UPC: 7318599923024
catalogNumber: 2302
Rank: 16731


  1. Sonata for violin & harp in D major/E flat major ("Sonata Concertante"), Op. 113

    1. I. Allegro brillante
    2. II. Adagio
    3. III. Allegretto
  2. Sonata for violin & harp in G major/A flat major ("Sonata Concertante"), Op. 115

    1. I. Allegro
    2. II. Larghetto
    3. III. Rondo
  3. Sonata for violin & harp or piano in D major/E flat major, Op. 114

    1. I. Allegro vivace
    2. II. Potpourri on themes from The Magic Flute

Album Credits

Customer Reviews