Love and Crime: Stories

Love and Crime: Stories

by V. S. Kemanis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154010600
Publisher: V. S. Kemanis
Publication date: 05/01/2017
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 339 KB

About the Author

“Kemanis is a writer of high caliber worth noting.” – The U.S. Review of Books "... unarguably gifted … a great talent…" — SP Reviews "Kemanis’ descriptions are outstanding..." — Kirkus Reviews V.S. Kemanis is a California native and currently resides in New York. As an attorney, she has been a criminal prosecutor of street crime and organized crime, has argued criminal appeals for the prosecution and defense, conducted complex civil litigation, and worked for state appellate courts. Ms. Kemanis is also an accomplished dancer of classical and contemporary styles and has performed, taught, and choreographed in California, Colorado and New York. Short fiction by Ms. Kemanis has been published in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, The Crooked Road, Vol. 3, and several literary journals, and is currently available in three collections. Novels in the Dana Hargrove legal mystery series draw on her personal experience in criminal law. Ms. Kemanis is a member of the Mystery Writers of America.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Love and Crime: Stories 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
NNLight More than 1 year ago
A collection of yes, Love and Crime stories! The author has the natural ability to bring the reader right into a story. This allows the book to be an easy read for the reader. There is a tendency to move back and forth from past to present and back. I personally found that a little hard to follow but some may truly enjoy that! The author has a gift for writing crime stories. The crime stories (#1 is the BEST in this book!) are the highlight and are the super part of the book. Fans of Hill Street Blues and Law and Order will love the crime Stories! Now for the story by story thoughts: Love Stories Story 1 – Odd, disjointed – not terribly endearing and as a retired Chef I found the premise hard to believe. A further aside, I doubt ANYTHING can make capers taste good. 2.5/5 Story 2 – Unless a story is really gripping, flashback/forward/back * repeat * is disruptive to the flow. In the end, the story was hard to follow and concluded in an unsatisfactory way. 2.5/5 Story 3 (Conference) – HUNH???? I enjoyed the story but never understood it. 3.5/5 Story 4 (Searching for Ear Wax) – The main character is a bitter/jaded woman who simply failed at love. The Anti-Vaxxers in this story cry out for a serial killer to put them out of their misery and free the kid to Children’s Services. NOTE – any relationship that takes one’s interest away from their spouse is an AFFAIR whether there is sex or not. Had a superb Happy Ending! Having the child disappear and get away from the crazy Anti-Vaxxers is good no matter how it happens! 4/5 Crime Stories 1 – Brilliant, evocative. Took the reader quickly into a new world and carries the reader along. Brilliant, the BEST story in the book. A must read! 5/5 2 – (Pure Kill) Fantastic, gritty, realistic, exciting/ a pure page turner!! 5/5 3 – (Day) 4/5 HATED the ending. 4 – (Collectors Find) Very hard to follow and super hard to like the character of Roz. 3/5 The Extra Stories Zephyr – 3/5 – meandered Cactus Flowers – 3/5 – no point Cat – 3/5 hard to follow Epiblog – 3/5 Interesting but hard to follow My Rating: 3.5 stars