Love Is About to Start

Love Is About to Start

by L.J. Reynolds


$13.15 $14.99 Save 12% Current price is $13.15, Original price is $14.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Love Is About to Start

The 1990s found L.J. Reynolds wearing two different hats and dividing his time between his solo career and the Dramatics, whom he had left in 1980 and rejoined in 1987. Reynolds turned 47 in 1999, and it was obvious to his fans that his voice hadn't lost any of its power over the years. In fact, the soul veteran is in generally excellent form on 1999's Love Is About to Start, which favors a classic Northern soul approach and isn't much different from the recordings he made with the Dramatics in the 1970s. Reynolds sings with conviction throughout the CD, sounding quite focused on material that ranges from the sentimental "Everything Is You" to an inspired cover of Deniece Williams' "Silly" and a remake of "Key to the World" (which Reynolds first recorded in 1981). Interestingly, Reynolds meant for the gritty "Down on My Luck" to acknowledge modern country-pop (which he has said he's heavily into), but the song is actually quite bluesy and has more in common with B.B. King than with Clint Black or Tim McGraw. Love Is About to Start breaks no new ground for Reynolds, which is probably just as well -- classic 1970s-like soul is what he does best, and there's plenty of it on this rewarding CD.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/30/1999
Label: Volt
UPC: 0025218341127
catalogNumber: 3411
Rank: 121059

Album Credits

Performance Credits

L.J. Reynolds   Primary Artist,Vocals
Dramatics   Track Performer
Paul D. Allen   Snare Drums
Ron Banks   Background Vocals
Curtiss Boone   Keyboards
Vernon D. Fails   Keyboards
Willie Ford   Background Vocals
Ray Hermann   Saxophone
John Hoesly   Electric Bass
James Jamerson   Bass Guitar
Raymond Johnson   Keyboards
Harry Kim   Trumpet
Gerald Leon Kinchelow   Background Vocals
Dwayne Lomax   Drums
Lenny Mayes   Background Vocals
Michael J. Powell   Guitar,Percussion,Drums
Carl "Butch" Small   Percussion
Arturo Velasco   Trombone
William Wooten   Keyboards
David Miles   Guitar
Amp Fiddler   Keyboards
Carl Robinson   Guitar
David Brandon   Drums
Everett Boone   Electric Guitar
Mario Castro-Neves   Keyboards
Graham Scott   Soprano Saxophone
Wenzell Kelly   Background Vocals
Ayoub   Guitar
Leroy Hyder   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Scott Graham   Soprano Saxophone
Sandra Fever   Background Vocals
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet

Technical Credits

L.J. Reynolds   Producer
Tony Camillo   Arranger
Steve Fontano   Engineer
Harvey   Executive Producer
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Brian A. Spears   Executive Producer
Mario Castro-Neves   Programming

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews