Love Power Peace

Love Power Peace

by James Brown

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$53.19 $55.99 Save 5% Current price is $53.19, Original price is $55.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, August 26


James Brown is featured here with the then newly formed J.B.'s -- the maestro's second great band, including Bootsy Collins, Phelps Collins, Jabo Starks, Bobby Byrd, and Fred Wesley. Live at the Apollo had caught James Brown the '50s gospel/R&B singer; Love Power Peace captures James Brown the funkster. In the early '70s Brown turned up the funk, recording such litanies for Black America as "Ain't It Funky Now," "Sex Machine," "Give It Up or Turn It Loose," "Super Bad," "Get Up, Get into It, Get Involved," and "Soul Power." They're all here, along with revved-up, white-hot versions of the early- and middle-period classics. Brown had planned to release this as a triple album in 1971. When several bandmembers left shortly after it was recorded, Brown switched from King to Polydor Records, leading him to scrap it and record a new studio album instead. In 1992, Polygram decided to make the recording available for the first time.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/14/2014
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
UPC: 0090771547019
catalogNumber: 5470
Rank: 35549


Disc 1

  1. Introduction
  2. Brother Rapp
  3. Ain't it Funky Now
  4. Georgia on My Mind, Pt. 1
  5. Georgia on My Mind, Pt. 2
  6. Sunny
  7. Intro: Bobby Byrd
  8. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours
  9. I Need Help (I Can't Do it Alone)

Disc 2

  1. Introduction: Vicki Anderson
  2. Don't Play That Song (You Lied)
  3. Yesterday
  4. Break & Intro Announcement
  5. Dance & It's a New Day
  6. Bewildered, Pt. 1
  7. Bewildered, Pt. 2
  8. There Was a Time
  9. Sex Machine
  10. Try Me, Pt. 1

Disc 3

  1. Try Me, Pt. 2
  2. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag/I Got You/I Got the Feelin'
  3. Give it Up or Turnit a Loose
  4. It's a Man's Man's Man's World
  5. Who am I
  6. Please Please Please
  7. Sex Machine (Reprise)
  8. Super Bad
  9. Get Up, Get Into it, Get Involved
  10. Soul Power
  11. Get Up, Get Into it, Get Involved (Reprise)
  12. Finale

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews