Lucy Lopez: Coding Star (After-School Superstars Series #3)

Lucy Lopez: Coding Star (After-School Superstars Series #3)

Hardcover

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Talented Lucy Lopez finds her passion when she joins an after-school coding camp, but can her older sister come to terms with their shared hobby?

Third-grader Lucy Lopez and her older sister Elena created the Let's Have Fun Club, where they designed their own badges to put in a handbook and make up lists of things they have to do to earn each one.

But now Elena is spending most of her time coding on the computer and Lucy feels left out. She decides to join the after-school coding camp in the hopes that Elena will want to add it to their Let's Have Fun Club activities and it can be something they can do together. But when Lucy proves to be a natural, Elena is none too happy—why does Lucy have to do everything she does?

Parents and kids on the hunt for a fun and informative book about coding need look no further! Perfect for fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, and Clementine, the After-School Superstars series of chapter books features recurring characters, and each book highlights one activity they do at their after-school program. With large black-and-white illustrations, each book includes a bonus activity related to that book's plot.

Don't miss the other titles, including Nixie Ness: Cooking Star and Vera Vance: Comic Book Star. Lucy Lopez is being simultaneously released in hardcover and paperback.

A Junior Library Guild Selection!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"This title approaches a common sibling frustration, refreshingly from the less-represented viewpoint of the younger child. Spot art breaks up the text and expands the humor, and back matter provides resources to help those interested in coding find a place to start." —The Horn Book

"Chapter-book readers will enjoy watching Lucy navigate the exciting world of computer coding and the complexities of having an older sister."Kirkus Reviews

School Library Journal

09/25/2020

Gr 2–5— Third-grader Lucy will warm readers' hearts from the first chapter. Lucy desperately wants to be part of her older sister Elena's life. Elena used to be interested in the same things as Lucy—but now that Elena is in fifth grade, she is more interested in new friends and new things like coding than playing with Lucy. If Lucy wants to keep earning badges for the sisters' "Let's Have Fun Club," she will have to find another way to break through to Elena. But what if Lucy's contentious sister is right, and coding just isn't her thing? The sisters experience growing pains and search for their individual identities while preserving their sisterly love. The theme of sibling rivalry is intertwined with themes of trying new things and perseverance. Mills uses a thoughtful narrative style with rigorous vocabulary added, which makes it perfect for young readers. Illustrations are scattered throughout, which support the text and make learning readers feel confident. The chapters are appropriate in length for those transitioning to longer novels without illustrations. Coding is a relevant topic for children today, but this book will be loved by coders and non-coders alike. VERDICT A relevant STEM tale that touches on growth and family, this book is perfect for young readers who have advanced past beginning chapter books, but are not quite ready for middle grade novels. —Kelly Finan Richards, Baltimore County Public Sch.

Kirkus Reviews

2020-08-18
Everyone in third grader Lucy Lopez’s family has a “special thing”: Her mom practices salsa dancing, her dad loves gardening, and her older sister, Elena, is obsessed with computer coding.

Lucy’s not sure what her “thing” is yet, but the sisters have a club in which they try their hands at different skills to earn self-awarded merit badges, and Lucy can’t wait to find out what her “thing” will turn out to be! Lately, however, it seems as though all Elena wants to do is sit in front of a computer and work on her coding projects. Looking to connect, Lucy enrolls in an after-school coding camp with kids readers will recognize from other installments in the After-School Superstars series. Lucy is introduced to basic computer coding terms and concepts like algorithms, loops, and conditional statements. She is surprised when, instead of being excited about another activity to do together, Elena is mad that her little sister is copying her newfound hobby. Lucy is torn between excitement about her knack for coding and her sister’s irritation. Can Lucy code a game for the end-of-camp Coding Expo that will change her sister’s feelings about having two coders in the family? Chapter-book readers will enjoy watching Lucy navigate the exciting world of computer coding and the complexities of having an older sister. Illustrations depict characters of color, and Lucy and her family are coded Latinx, though ethnicities are not specifically named in the text.

Explore sister dynamics in this gentle read. (coding resources) (Fiction. 7-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780823446285
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication date: 10/06/2020
Series: After-School Superstars Series , #3
Pages: 128
Sales rank: 1,222,308
Product dimensions: 5.27(w) x 7.89(h) x 0.58(d)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

Customer Reviews