Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real [2017]

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real [2017]

by Lukas Nelson and Promise of the RealLukas Nelson and Promise of the Real


$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 18


Prior to 2017, Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real were primarily heard in reflection of the legends they've supported -- namely, Neil Young, who hired the group as his backing band for his 2015 LP The Monsanto Years, and Lukas' father Willie, who has taken his son out on the road on more than one occasion. All this means Lukas Nelson & the Promise of the Real, the 2017 album that is also their leap to the semi-majors, marks the first opportunity many audiences have to properly assess the band on their own terms. Appropriately, Nelson & Promise of the Real decide to show a little of everything they can do on this elegantly lazy 12-track album. "Set me Down on a Cloud" sets the tone, indicating this album will be something of a spacy trip, but its Americana psychedelia works as a keynote because it suggests Promise of the Real embrace the notion of ever-expanding possibilities. They immediately bring the proceedings back to earth with "Die Alone," one of a few funky blues-rockers here, but since they've opened the door to a world outside of Texas, that specter hangs over the album even when they're doing songs suited for beer joints. At times, Promise of the Real can't help but recall Willie Nelson, and not just because Willie plays guitar on "Just Outside of Austin," a gently rolling acoustic number. Promise of the Real also favor the places where country, folk, rock, and blues intersect, while also realizing that it's necessary to find an idiosyncratic voice through familiar elements. That's precisely what they do here, giving open-road rockers, R&B workouts, starlit cowboy tunes, breezy beach songs, and country laments a personal bent. It's a record where Lady Gaga can join in for a six-minute slow-burner styled after prime Faces ("Find Yourself") and feel at home because this is a place where anybody is invited just as long as they share the same vibe. And, as a listener, if you happen to share that vibe, Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real is a pure pleasure.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/2017
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072033481
catalogNumber: 174
Rank: 23286


  1. Set Me Down on a Cloud
  2. Die Alone
  3. Fool Me Once
  4. Just Outside of Austin
  5. Carolina
  6. Runnin’ Shine
  7. Find Yourself
  8. Four Letter Word
  9. High Times
  10. Breath of My Baby
  11. Forget About Georgia
  12. If I Started Over

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real   Primary Artist
John Alagia   Piano,Shaker,Hammond B3
Bobbie Nelson   Piano
Oliver Kraus   Strings
Jesse Siebenberg   Steel Guitar,Vocals,farfisa organ,Group Member
Corey McCormick   Bass,Vocals,Upright Bass,Group Member
David Palmer   Piano
Alice Smith   Vocals
Anthony LoGerfo   Drums,Group Member
Lady Gaga   Background Vocals
Lukas Nelson   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Josh Grange   Pedal Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Holly Laessig   Vocals
Alberto Bof   Piano,Wurlitzer,Group Member,Hammond B3
Jess Wolfe   Vocals
Micah Nelson   Banjo,Piano
Tato Melgar   Percussion,Group Member
Joey Vitas   Piano

Technical Credits

Willie Nelson   Drum Triggers
Niko Bolas   Engineer
John Alagia   Producer,Engineer
Oliver Kraus   String Arrangements
Alex Williams   Engineer
Merle Chornuk   Engineer
Scooter Weintraub   Executive Producer
Carrie Smith   Art Direction
Daniel Piscina   Engineer
Lukas Nelson   Composer
Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real   Arranger
Alyssa Miller   Composer
Shao Jean Sim   Engineer

Customer Reviews