Luna Nueva

Luna Nueva

by Debi Nova
2.0 1

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Luna Nueva

Available in two versions -- one primarily sung in English, the other primarily in Spanish -- Debi Nova's genre-defying debut album is stylish, cool, passionate, warm, and mostly what you'd expect from a singer groomed to be Costa Rica's answer to Shakira. There are plenty of ways to tell the difference between the two artists, but first and foremost, Nova's got an appealing bossa nova breeziness about her that's more conservative and more comfortable. While the hit single "Drummer Boy" is Luna Nueva's infectious and big Black Eyed Peas moment, everything else here is much more sensible and less showy, a smart move since Nova seems like a free-spirited near-hippie at heart. She shines on more organic groovers like the War-inspired "Rather Be Your Lover" and the Prince-like "Ashes & Pearls," while her grand moment comes during the elegant "Don't Wanna Forget," a heartbreak number with plenty of strings. Strange that there's barely a touch of hip-hop considering her previous work in the genre, but Luna Nueva is already juggling four or five Latin flavors with plenty of rock, funk, and smooth jazz thrown into the mix. That it hangs together at all is impressive but it flows extremely well, providing the perfect soundtrack to summer afternoons and romantic getaways.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/2010
Label: Decca U.S.
UPC: 0602527163284
catalogNumber: 001335202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Debi Nova   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Strings,Keyboards,Marimbas,Vocals,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Marius de Vries   Keyboards
Victor Indrizzo   Drums
Anibal Kerpel   Keyboards,Melodica
Greg Kurstin   Harmonica,Keyboards
Abraham Laboriel   Bass,Percussion,Drums
Gustavo Santaolalla   Electric Guitar
Raphael Saadiq   Bass
Shannon Sanders   Keyboards
Michael Valerio   Double Bass
Citizen Cope   Guitar,Vocals,Synthesizer Strings
Grecco Buratto   Guitar
Billy Mohler   Upright Bass
Adrián Sosa   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,spanish guitar
Jeff Hill   Bass
Matt Johnson   Drums
Drew Ramsey   Guitar
Martin "Doc" McKinney   Guitar

Technical Credits

Claudia Brant   Composer
Louis Biancaniello   Composer
David Campbell   String Arrangements
Steve Churchyard   Engineer
Marius de Vries   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer,Additional Production
Clarence Greenwood   Composer,Producer
Anibal Kerpel   Programming,Engineer
Greg Kurstin   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Bill Malina   Engineer
Warren Riker   Engineer
Gustavo Santaolalla   Producer,Executive Producer
Sam Watters   Composer,Vocal Producer
Tom Schick   Engineer
Julian Peploe   Art Direction
Beto Cuevas   Composer
Shannon Sanders   Composer,Programming
Leah Haywood   Composer
Adrián Sosa   Composer,Programming,Producer,Additional Production
Debi Nova   Composer
Jason Boshoff   Programming
Drew Ramsey   Composer,Programming
Dreamlab   Programming,Producer
Sachiko   Art Direction
Martin "Doc" McKinney   Composer,Programming,Producer
Daniel James   Composer,Engineer
Ron Entwistle   Programming
Lisa Brandé   Executive Producer
Tony Peluzzo   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Luna Nueva 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago