Luther, Teddy & Marvin

Luther, Teddy & Marvin


$17.16 $18.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.16, Original price is $18.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Luther, Teddy & Marvin

A dozen of the biggest ballads from soul greats Luther Vandross, Teddy Pendergrass, and Marvin Gaye receive plush re-workings from a cast of noted musicians, including saxophonist Kim Waters, guitarist Rhon Lawrence, and producer/multi-instrumentalist Chris "Big Dog" Davis, as well as vocalists Phil Perry and Nicki Richards. Three of the five Pendergrass selections are Gamble & Huff compositions, but one of the others -- "Love TKO," written by Cecil Womack, shines the most with Lawrence's guitar taking the lead. The Vandross picks -- "Here and Now," "So Amazing," and "If Only for One Night" -- are notable for not being obvious. Gaye, meanwhile, is paid tribute through equally relaxed versions of "You Sure Love to Ball" and two songs from the 1976 masterpiece I Want You ("After the Dance" and the title song). There's a sly nod to songwriting duo Ashford & Simpson; "Your Precious Love," a major hit for Gaye and Tammi Terrell in 1967, is followed with "Is It Still Good to Ya," covered by Pendergrass in 1980 (two years after the composers recorded it themselves). These versions couldn't possibly surpass the originals, of course, but they're reverent and pleasant.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/31/2012
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351519627
catalogNumber: 5196
Rank: 65805

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rodney Jones   Guitar
Kim Waters   Saxophone
Phil Perry   Vocals
Nicki Richards   Vocals
Randy Bowland   Guitar
Everett Bradley   Vocals
Wayne Bruce   Guitar
Carl Carter   Bass
Philip Hamilton   Guitar
Pamela Williams   Keyboards,Alto Saxophone
Kenny Allen   Background Vocals
Eddie Baccus   Saxophone
Michael Sims   Guitar
David Mann   Keyboards,Saxophone,Soloist
Issac Clemens   Background Vocals
Rhon Lawrence   Guitar

Technical Credits

Marvin Gaye   Composer
Luther Vandross   Composer
Kim Waters   Executive Producer
T-Boy Ross   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Pamela Williams   Producer,drum programming
Leon Ware   Composer
Danny Weiss   Executive Producer
Chris "Big Dog" Davis   Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Davy D   Engineer
David Mann   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
C. Womack   Composer
Adam Wiener   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews