by Francis Beckett


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781904950660
Publisher: Haus Publishing
Publication date: 11/01/2006
Series: Haus Publishing - British Prime Ministers Series
Pages: 168
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Francis Beckett is a freelance writer and journalist. His seven books include four biographies, of Clement Attlee, Aneurin Bevan, Laurence Olivier, and his own father, the Labour MP turned fascist leader John Beckett.

Table of Contents

The Life
The House of Macmillan (1894-1914)     1
The War that Changed Everything (1915-19)     10
Years of Hope and Despair (1919-29)     18
The Coming of Another War (1929-39)     30
The Ruler of the Mediterranean (1940-5)     42
Attlee and Churchill Remake Britain (1945-55)     59
'Wab or Hawold?' (1956)     67
The Leadership
Plucking Victory from the Jaws of Defeat (1957-9)     85
Plucking Defeat from the Jaws of Victory (1959-63)     94
The Legacy
'Selling the Family Silver' (1963-86)     113
The Last Edwardian, the First Moderniser     118
Notes     130
Chronology     135
Further Reading     144
Picture Sources     148
Index     150

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews