Mad Miss Mimic

Mad Miss Mimic

by Sarah Henstra

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

Jane Austen meets Arthur Conan Doyle in a historical fiction debut for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.


Born into an affluent family, Leo outwardly seems like a typical daughter of English privilege in the 1870s: she lives with her wealthy married sister Christabel, and lacks for neither dresses nor trinkets. But Leo has a crippling speech impediment that makes it difficult for her to speak but curiously allows her to mimic other people's voices flawlessly. Servants and ladies alike call her "Mad Miss Mimic" behind her back... and watch as she unintentionally scares off every potential suitor. Only the impossibly handsome Mr. Thornfax seems interested in Leo...but why? And does he have a connection to the mysterious Black Glove group that has London in its terrifying grasp? Trapped in a city under siege by terror attacks and gripped by opium fever, where doctors (including her brother-in-law) race to patent an injectable formula, Leo must search for truth in increasingly dangerous situations - but to do so, she must first find her voice.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143192374
Publisher: PRH Canada Young Readers
Publication date: 01/03/2017
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,179,880
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Sarah Henstra is a professor of English at Ryerson University, where she teaches courses in Gothic Literature, Fairy Tales & Fantasy, and Women in Fiction. Some of her best story ideas come from class discussions. She lives in Toronto with her husband, two sons, and a poodle named Nora. Mad Miss Mimic is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mad Miss Mimic 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Adriyanna More than 1 year ago
Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra can be described as Sherlock Holmes meets Jane Austen. This takes place in London, England 1872 and is a slightly, alternate version of London, but remains mostly true to the time and place. Seventeen year old Leonora Somerville should have no issues finding a husband – she’s beautiful and soon-to-be very rich. There’s just one issue: her speech disorder which causes her to stutter and mimic other people’s voices. Behind her back she’s called Mad Miss Mimic and her sister is determined to get her married before Miss Mimic has all of Leo’s potential suitors running off. I loved Leo! She’s a funny character who is both determined to make her sister happy (conforming to society) and listening to her Aunt Emma by doing what makes Leo happy. I definitely enjoyed reading this sort of conflict. The slightly alternative reality comes in as Black Glove, a terrorist group using street urchins to set off explosives around the city – their goal, have the ban lifted off of opium. Then there’s the charming Francis Thornfax, a potential husband for Leo and the ruggedly, handsome Tom Rampling, a working-class boy under Leo’s brother-in-law. When it seems like Tom is connected to Black Glove, Leo decides to do her own detective work and figure out the truth. This is one fantastic thriller you don’t want to miss out on!
pooled_ink More than 1 year ago
pooled ink Reviews: I fell in love with this book the moment I read its description. From the first pages I knew it would not disappoint me and indeed it did not! Henstra’s novel had all the romance of a Jane Austen story but with an exciting dash of scandal and adrenaline. I love so many things about this book, where to begin? The plot took its time when it needed to but overall it raced through and I couldn’t, nor did I want to, put it down until I’d read it start to finish. The prose was beautiful, the characters fascinating, everything just fit together wonderfully! Really, this book was superb and an excellent choice for any who enjoy Austen’s stories, or seek a book waist-deep in the shady opium markets of London. Society, scandal, mystery, MAD MISS MIMIC takes a sweet wealthy girl and plunges her into the icy depths of how far some men will go for money. Exhilarating, suspenseful, but with reassuring breaths of romance, this story is one that ought to dominate the shelves. Read my FULL review here: https://pooledink.com/2016/12/10/mad-miss-mimic-arc-review/