Magellan's Playlist, Vol. 1: On Tour in China

Magellan's Playlist, Vol. 1: On Tour in China

by Athens Guitar Duo


Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2013
Label: Claudio
UPC: 5016198601924
catalogNumber: 6019


  1. Princess of Lykia, for 2 guitars  (10:19)
  2. Greek Suite, for 2 guitars, Op. 39

    1. Zagoresios  (04:04)
    2. In the Valleys  (04:56)
    3. Tsirigotikos  (01:22)
    4. Karagouna  (04:07)
    5. Kalamatianos  (05:11)
  3. Nocturne-Fantasy, for 2 guitars, Op. 69  (13:09)
  4. Divertissement for 2 guitars

    1. Entrée  (01:30)
    2. Élégie  (02:14)
    3. Madrigal  (02:00)
    4. Rondeau  (03:17)
  5. Silver Clouds Chasing the Moon  (04:03)
  6. Comme des Grands, for 2 guitars

    1. Gloomy Light  (03:40)
    2. Il Funghetto  (03:52)
    3. Clown blanc  (03:13)
  7. Evening Dance for 2 guitars  (04:12)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Magellan's Playlist, Vol. 1 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
OscarOVeterano1 More than 1 year ago
“Magellan’s Playlist” – On Tour in China – The Athens Guitar Duo - CLAUDIO The Athens Guitar Duo (Dusty Woodruff and Mathew Anderson) are two talented American musicians whose new recording of 20th century guitar music is oddly titled “Magellan’s Playlist”. Adding further to the conceptual confusion is the subtitle ‘On Tour in China’, a strange name for a recording done entirely in England; presumably the repertoire had been performed on their tour of China, though the liner notes never make this clear. While both gentlemen are more than skilled as guitarists, one might question some of their repertoire choices. By ignoring the standard, Segovia-inspired recital format (i.e. modern compositions mixed with classical, romantic and baroque era pieces) and, instead, featuring an all-contemporary playlist, they’ve not done themselves nor the listeners any favors. While the composers whose work is performed do come from divergent backgrounds (US, UK, Turkey, France and China), there is nevertheless a curious sameness to the sound of much of this music. Eventually even the most avant garde music can start to feel predictable; though there are some genuinely beautiful moments in some of these compositions (notably John Duarte’s “Greek Suite” and “Evening Dance” by Andrew York”), too much of it sounds like modal noodling around in search of a melodic idea. While we’re at it, what exactly will it take to convince composers and guitarists alike that they should refrain from beating on a beautiful, handmade guitar as though it were a bongo drum? So, this is a technically well played and recorded grouping of compositions that will probably appeal to guitar students and fans of the avant garde; one can only wonder what the Chinese thought. 7 out of 10 Oscar O. Veterano