Maggie Boylan

Maggie Boylan

by Michael Henson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Finalist, 2019 Weatherford Award (Fiction) • A Great Group Reads Selection for National Reading Group Month from The Women’s National Book Association

Set in Appalachian Ohio amid an epidemic of prescription opiate abuse, Michael Henson’s linked collection tells of a woman’s search for her own peculiar kind of redemption, and brings the novel-in-stories form to new heights. Maggie Boylan is an addict, thief, liar, and hustler. But she is also a woman of deep compassion and resilience. The stories follow Maggie as she spirals through her addictive process, through the court system and treatment, and into a shaky new beginning.

In these masterful stories, we rarely occupy Maggie’s perspective, but instead gain a multilayered portrait of a community as we see other people’s lives bump up against hers—and we witness her inserting herself into their spheres, refusing to be rebuffed. The result is a prismatic view of a community fighting to stay upright against the headwinds of a drug epidemic: always on edge, always human.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780804012027
Publisher: Ohio University Press
Publication date: 03/01/2018
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 152
Sales rank: 685,634
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Michael Henson is author of four books of fiction and four collections of poetry and has worked as an addiction counselor and community organizer. His work has been published in Still: The Journal, Appalachian Heritage, and many other periodicals. He is a coeditor of Pine Mountain Sand & Gravel, the annual publication of the Southern Appalachian Writers Cooperative.

Table of Contents

Maggie Boylan 1

Black Friday 15

The Way the World Is 24

Timothy Weatherstone 32

Liars 56

All This Craziness 66

Probation 71

The Girl Who Spoke Foreign 88

Acceptance Is the Answer 103

Pillhead Hill 114

Customer Reviews