Magic Time

Magic Time

by Van Morrison


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Magic Time

Van Morrison has always had a tendency to alternate personae from album to album, waxing spiritual for a spell, then returning to the lusty thickets planted by the bluesmen of yore. Magic Time, however, isn't quite so cut-and-dried in its approach. Morrison the mystic makes his presence felt on a number of cuts, most palpably the anthemic "Keep Mediocrity at Bay," a raw-but-right affirmation that finds the singer repeating the titular advisory like a mantra between fiery harmonica blasts. That tenor, which recalls the searching quality of discs like No Guru, No Method, No Teacher, also manifests itself on the comparatively subdued but emotionally unrestrained "Gypsy in My Soul." As on many of his best albums, Morrison swims into an undercurrent of bitterness, sometimes bemoaning his own fate -- as on the string-saturated ode to isolation "Just like Greta" -- and sometimes venturing into far deeper waters, as he does with the fervent "They Sold Me Out," a visitation of Jesus Christ's betrayal. While that may sound like -- and is -- pretty heavy going, Morrison punctuates the disc with songs that resonate with old-fashioned romance (a relatively straightforward, swinging take on the Sinatra-popularized "This Love of Mine") and rich musical history (the Depression-era standard "I'm Confessin' "). The sonic backdrops shift every bit as often as do the moods, with warming washes of organ and plaintive brass wails taking turns at the fore, but through it all, Morrison remains in control -- a musical guru and a teacher for the ages.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602498709450
catalogNumber: 000466202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Van Morrison   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Alto Saxophone,Vocals
David Hayes   Bass
John Allair   Organ
Liam Bradley   Drums,Background Vocals
Noel Bridgeman   Drums
Mick Green   Guitar
Bobby Irwin   Drums
Jerome Rimson   Bass,Background Vocals
Foggy Lyttle   Guitar
Rosie Wetters   Strings,Leader
Martin Winning   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Brian Connor   Piano,Electric Piano
Aine Whelan   Background Vocals
Paddy Maloney   Human Whistle
Matt Holland   Trumpet
Myles Drennan   Piano,Hammond B3
Karen Hamill   Background Vocals
Dave Lewis   Organ,Piano
Crawford Bell   Background Vocals
Wired Strings   Strings
Olwin Bell   Background Vocals
Johnathan Mele   Drums
Siobhan Pettit   Background Vocals
Dave Lewis   Piano
Michael Fields   Lute,spanish guitar
Johnny Scott   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Frank Sinatra   Composer
Richard Evans   Art Direction
Mick Glossop   Engineer
Brian Masterson   Engineer
Van Morrison   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
J. Neiburg   Composer
Ellis Reynolds   Composer
Walter Samuel   Engineer
Henry W. Sanicola   Composer
Fiachra Trench   String Arrangements
Alastair McMillan   Engineer
Edna Walsh   Engineer
Sol Parker   Composer
Solly Lipsitz   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews