Magnetband: Experimenteller Elektronik-Underground DDR 1984-1989

Magnetband: Experimenteller Elektronik-Underground DDR 1984-1989


$18.99 $19.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Magnetband: Experimenteller Elektronik-Underground DDR 1984-1989

Magnetband: Experimenteller Elektronik-Underground DDR 1984-1989 collects several tracks from obscure cassettes produced in Germany during the years leading up to the collapse of the Berlin Wall. The selections skew toward experimental post-punk created with drum machines, tape loops, and other electronics, and often contain jarring edits, fractured rhythms, and eerie, distorted vocals. While the state of political and social unrest inevitably informs these recordings, they aren't entirely full of rage or confusion. Many of them are actually quite playful and surrealist, mutating elements of disco, reggae, and even blues. Several of these tracks were recorded by musicians who later achieved fame for their subsequent ventures. Frank Bretschneider, co-founder of glitch/techno label Raster-Noton, appears no less than four times on this compilation, and one piece was co-written by Ronald and Robert Lippok, both later of To Rococo Rot. Perhaps most surprisingly, the amusing, somewhat loungey "Er Hat's Geschafft" by Magdalene Keibel Combo turns out to be the work of Christian Lorenz and Paul Landers, who would both join industrial metal stars Rammstein in 1994. The album's most alarming, aggressive track is "Die Kuh," a noisy synth-punk tune by Der Demokratische Konsum. The most avant-garde piece here is Robert Linke's "Musik zum Weltuntergang," a buzzing nine-minute drone that's much closer to Asmus Tietchens than Pyrolator. Magnetband is a fascinating, eye-opening release documenting expressions of creative freedom during an oppressive era. Highly recommended for fans of early Felix Kubin, Der Plan, Diseño Corbusier, and other bizarre minimal wave visionaries from the 1980s.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2017
Label: Bureau B
UPC: 4015698008678
catalogNumber: 253
Rank: 284009

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Robert Lippok   Clarinet
Ronald Lippok   Vocals,Brass
Frank Bretschneider   Synthesizer,Guitar,Vocals,Sampling,Machines
Bert Hildebrandt   Clarinet
Detlef Pegelow   Guitar,Trumpet
Deo Buschkowski   Guitar
Heinz Havemeister   Guitar
Alexander Wolf   Percussion
Stefan Schröter   Bass
Wolfram Ehrhardt   Drums
Heiko Röder   Vocals
Fritz-Hendrik Melle   Saxophone,Vocals
Ralf Haupert   Casio
Ralf Scherff   Pauke

Technical Credits

Robert Lippok   Composer
Ronald Lippok   Composer
Frank Bretschneider   Composer,Programming
Bo Kondren   Composer
Paul Landers   Composer
Flake Lorenz   Composer
Landers   Composer
Alexander Pehlemann   Liner Notes
Alexander Kriening   Composer
Heinz Havemeister   Composer
Heiko Röder   Composer
Karen Matting   Composer
Demokratische Konsum   Composer
Robert Linke   Composer
Taymur Streng   Composer
Corp Cruid   Composer
Wilhelm Reoch   Composer
Alexander Nym   translation
Martin Hiller   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews