Magnetic North

Magnetic North

by Aqualung


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Magnetic North

Aqualung occupies the curious space between Coldplay and Jamie Cullum, a singer/songwriter with serious aspirations but a bent toward populism -- a bent that he can barely control, nor should he, because as Magnetic North, his sixth album, illustrates, he's at his best when he's broadest, writing songs with skyscraping hooks that are given soft, shimmering productions. He often favors pulsating arpeggios and icy crescendos, just like Chris Martin's crew, but the record takes off when things get bouncier, like on the quite terrific opener "New Friend" -- which sounds like a long-lost collaboration between Beck and Elton John -- and the chipper "Fingertip." These are as good of an indication of the Los Angeles origin of Magnetic North as the songs that directly reference SoCal ("California," "Hummingbird,'" "Sundowning") and they showcase Aqualung at his best: an artful yet melodic heir to piano-driven '70s singer/songwriters.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2010
Label: Verve Forecast
UPC: 0602527299228
catalogNumber: 001389202

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Aqualung   Primary Artist
David Price   Percussion,Strings,Violin,Drums,Vibes
Luke Smallbone   Vocals
Courtney Kaiser   Vocals
Matt Hales   Organ,Synthesizer,Guitar,Piano,Celeste,Vocals,Melodica,Whisper
Jim Bianco   Vocals
Sara Bareilles   Vocals
Kelly Sweet   Vocals
Ben Hales   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Joel Smallbone   Vocals
Alison Sudol   Vocals
Kofi Hales   Vocals,Dancer
Kim Oliver   Vocals

Technical Credits

Paul Buchanan   Composer
David Price   String Arrangements,Music Stand
Steve Robson   Composer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Jimmie James   Artwork
Matt Hales   Composer,Producer
Ben Hales   Composer
Eric Robinson   Engineer
Matt Vincent-Brown   Composer
Kim Oliver   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews