Mahler: Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Adagio from Symphony No. 10

Mahler: Des Knaben Wunderhorn, Adagio from Symphony No. 10

by Pierre Boulez, Magdalena Kozená


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20


Pierre Boulez and the Cleveland Orchestra turn their attention to Mahler with a new recording of Des Knaben Wunderhorn and the Adagio from the Tenth Symphony. With this album Boulez completes his Mahler cycle for Deutsche Grammophon, which began in 1995 with the Symphony No. 6. Magdalena Kozená and Christian Gerhaher are the soloists in Des Knaben Wunderhorn.

Not only does this recording mark the completion of Boulez's Mahler-cycle on DG but it also continues DG's 85th birthday celebration for Boulez and the 150th anniversary of Mahler's birth. While not necessarily saving the best for last, the Adagio from the Tenth Symphony is the most fitting repertoire to celebrate the numerous important dates and anniversaries since Boulez feels that it is "a summation of all Mahler had ever written." The work seems to point in the direction of early Schoenberg but remains inconclusive as to what music Mahler would have written should he had lived longer.

The song-cycle Des Knaben Wunderhorn works on a much smaller scale than the Adagio. The form harkens back to something typical of the early Romantics, but the musical and harmonic language is much more progressive and forward-thinking, thus creating the duality which is central to much of Mahler's work. Boulez and the Cleveland Orchestra could not have been joined by more accomplished vocalists. According to the Celeveland Plain Dealer, "the undoubted star of the Wunderhorn songs was Czech mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kozená, whose plush voice and dramatic flair handily captured the essences of scenes steeped in the miseries of war, poverty, and ephemeral love." From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/2010
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947790600
catalogNumber: 001469902
Rank: 207434


  1. Des Knaben Wunderhorn, song cycle (12) for voice & piano (or orchestra)

    1. Der Schildwache Nachtlied  (05:28)
    2. Verlorne Müh'  (03:00)
    3. Trost im Unglück  (02:52)
    4. Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht?  (02:20)
    5. Das irdische Leben  (02:45)
    6. Revelge  (06:37)
    7. Des Antonius von Padua Fischpredigt  (03:34)
    8. Rheinlegendchen  (03:28)
    9. Lied des Verfolgten im Turm  (04:28)
    10. Wo die schönen Trompeten blasen  (07:00)
    11. Lob des hohen Verstandes  (02:38)
    12. Der Tamroursg'sell  (05:03)
  2. Symphony No. 10 in F sharp minor (incomplete, Adagio only)  (24:03)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews