Mailbox

Mailbox

by Audrey Shafer
4.5 54

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Mailbox by Audrey Shafer

For readers of Unbroken and Flags of Our Fathers, The Mailbox is a sympathetic portrayal of veterans and the burdens they carry throughout their lives.

   Vernon Culligan had been dead to the town of Draydon, Virginia, so long that when the crusty Vietnam vet finally died, only one person noticed. Twelve-year-old Gabe grew up in the foster care system until a social worker located his Uncle Vernon two years before. When he comes home to discover that his uncle has died of a heart attack, he's terrifed of going back into the system--so he tells no one. The next day, he discovers a strange note in his mailbox:
   I HAVE A SECRET. DO NOT BE AFRAID.
   And his uncle's body is gone.
   Thus begins a unique correspondence destined to save the two people that depended on Vernon for everything. Through flashbacks, we learn about Gabe and Vernon's relationship, and how finding each other saved them both from lives of suffering. But eventually, Vernon's death will be discovered, and how will Gabe and the mystery note writer learn to move forward?
   The Mailbox is not a story about death--though it begins with a death. It's also not a story about Vietnam vets, although the author works with Vietnam veterans and wrote this novel, in part, to illuminate their sacrifices and suffering. The Mailbox is a story about connections--about how two people in need can save each other.

Praise for The Mailbox:

Junior Library Guild Selection
A Bank Street College Best Children's Books of the Year
A Librarians' Choices Booklist Selection


“Shafer’s narrative is heartfelt, earnest and moving. . . and conveys the power of memory to help heal wounds.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Warm and moving, it is an evocative picture of the weblike nature of human existence and the interconnectedness of seemingly disparate experiences.”—School Library Journal


From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307487889
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 12/18/2008
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 192
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Audrey Shafer was born Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and completed her undergraduate studies at Harvard University, graduated from Stanford University School of Medicine, and finished anesthesiology residency at University of Pennsylvania. She currently teaches at Stanford University doing her clinical work at the Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System. She lives in Mountain View, CA wit her family.


From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mailbox 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read r This book I read this book because I was intrigued by the mystery it seemed to hold. It holds more than that. This is a book about: fostering, adoption, pet fostering, death and life, trust, and facing your fears. Gabe is used to veing shuttled from foster home to foster home when a caring caseworker is finally able to locate his uncle who agrees to take him in. Death strikes unexpectedly and Gabe finds himself alone and unsure of what to do. When this happens he also finds a curious correspondence has begun between him and a stranger, via Uncle Vernon's mailbox. This is a book written for juveniles but it explores some very mature themes. There is some discussion about a Vietnam vet who mistakenly fired upon a Vietnamese child who was firing on him. This tragedy haunted the vet who eventually fited upon himself due to thd guilt for which he couldn't forgive himself... This same veteran, though mentally unstable, reaches iut to Gabe, via the mailbox, and the two become friends from afar. Each helps the other in his own way, to face a world without Vernon. This story also portrays teachers, caseworkers, and law officials as being human beings with feelings and with the ability and need to reach out to others. In the end, the story line is nicely tidied up with everyone moving appropriately forward. I strongly caution a pre-read by parents and teachers prior to allowing or encouraging children to read this book. While it is well-written and thought-provoking, in my opinion, it should probably only be read by kids ages 10 or 12 and older. And then only if they will not be tormented by a man shooting half his head off in an attempt to expunge himself of guilt... This story has its place but it isn't for everyone. It certainly isn't something I'd have chosen to read if I'd known the subject matter more fully. If our boys choose to read it I'll be glad I've already read it.
BrookGabrielle More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book because there is some really good detail but the one thing I could suggest was have a little bit more because in parts of the story, I got lost. I didn't know what was going on in the middle because to me there wasn't much detail.
LoveReadingIL More than 1 year ago
This should become a classic-a gentle book with a powerful story. I will look forward to more from this writer. The Vietnam War left many scars and young people of today can see some of that through the characters of this story. There is no heavy-handed moralizing, just the recognition of what was and hope for what can be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a powerul story on many levels. It demonstrates how powerful the past is and how one must live eith consequences. I don't want to say much more. Just read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book captured and held my attention from the first page to the last. I wondered how a dead body could disappear and why someone would leave mysterious notes in the mailbox. The characters were well-developed and evoked a deep sense of compassion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was okay.. I never really understood the beginning until the middle of the book. Although, I have got to say, this book was pretty good. I love how the author describes the story thoroughly..
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think The Mailbox is very well written and described. It was very exciting finding the message in the mailbox.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I will admit that I got lost at times, I still give this book five stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To: Tigressa<br> Where: 'call of the wild' res one<br> When: ASAP<br> Message: 'Let me go you daemonic lunatic!'<br> From: Xelinia<br> ((To Ink: Please send this. She is holding me hostage! She is a daemonic lunatic)))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The flock of Jays is dwindling near, many have left many have gone. If danger nears there be no more birds. Numbers too small they fall. Lost they are but not unfound. They star of silver shows the way. But helpless for now until the light shines within again. The flighting moon shall not lead astray. It helps guide the star of silver which the jay birds follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To: Cinderstar of Sandclan. From: an annonymous Starclan cat. Message: you must chose a deputy soon. All your cats have been loyal, but Thistlepath shows respect and he passes on skills to younger cats. I have been watching him and decided that he would be a good deputy, but the choice is yours. When: asap. Deliver to: sandy place THIRD result.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To:harazzah from?? Messegae i eeally like you. Atachment. A rose and box of choclates. At oliver twist res one. When ASaP
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The most fastest mail rp every go to maple and give a request thx ~ jake
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you see Dreamwing tell her i want to be her mate
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have a message for zach that needs to be delivered asap at "ptd" res 2: "dont worry. Im coming we are safe. Found sgt dempsy. Will be at base in few days time kill some zombs for me from: sergant ryan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ink, I'm sorry. I was on Vacation. I will deliver any new Messages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Be mine! <p> To Earthbeam From Freedom. <p> Asap <p> Magical Cat Mystery res.1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can you go to "azekedelia" res 1 and tell them Liv is locked out and to move to the next res? Id really appreciate it, thanks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please go to pos res 2 and tell aquastar coralstream is locked put o all pos results. Then go to ash res 1 and tell rising sun and ashstar flamekit is locked out of the camp. Thank you and have a nice day
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She walks around
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Post an ad for my story at warrrior res1 and if you have any extra time posting at some warriors res would be AWESOME! I would like the ad to be something like this: Please read my story at glade res1. Look for Saving the World for Dummies. I'd really appreciate any comments. I accidently hit the post button before I was ready AND my return bar doesn't work, so it looks messy. Thank you. *** if you make it better,more interesting, that would be great. THANK YOU SO MUCH , INK!!