Pub. Date:
Make Yourself Sick

Make Yourself Sick

by Boys Night OutBoys Night Out


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


Boys Night Out returns with an expanded form of the sound it debuted on the 2002 EP Broken Bones and Bloody Kisses. Make Yourself Sick (Ferret) initially paints the Canadian combo as a pop-punk band, with an upbeat pace and catchy tunes about soft-focus stuff like youthful love and heartbreak. However, the band also shares metalcore's love of jarring aesthetic shifts, not to mention screamo vocals. The result is a song like "I Got Punched in the Nose for Sticking My Face in Other People's Business" (only the first of many cheeky song titles), which begins as an exuberant Get Up Kids-style anthem full of giddy lead guitar and boyish lead vocals, but is periodically visited by the tortured, shrieking spirits of screamo. "First Time It Shouldn't Taste Like Blood," "Decent Human Beings," and "I Was the Devil for One Afternoon" all follow suit, tempering their rousing emo and slick punk revivalism with tooth-shattering yowls and severe sonic shifts. Tracks like "Anatomy of a Journey" and "Hold on Tightly, Let's Go Lightly" are even more ambitious, incorporating elements as disparate as drum programming, pious church organ, digital vocal tuning, and solemn choirs alongside the usual banshee screams and sweeping melody.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: Imports
UPC: 0828136004026
catalogNumber: 6004026
Rank: 195190


  1. I Got Punched in the Nose for Sticking My Face in Other People's ...
  2. (Just Once) Let's Do Something Different
  3. The First Time It Shouldn't Taste Like Blood
  4. It's Dylan, You Know the Drill
  5. Hold on Tightly, Let Go Lightly
  6. The Subtleties That Make Mass Murderers Out of Otherwise Decent Human ...
  7. The Fine Art of Making It Out Alive
  8. I Was the Devil for One Afternoon
  9. The Anatomy of the Journey
  10. Yeah, No... I Know...

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Boys Night Out   Primary Artist
Portland   Group Member
Derek Lewis   Group Member
Eric Warner   Group Member
Brian Robinson   Group Member
Heather Miller   Group Member
Nancy Evans   Group Member
Brian Southall   Group Member
Carl Severson   Group Member
Cory Kilduff   Group Member
Brian Deneeve   Group Member
Scott Gross   Group Member
Ben Arseneau   Group Member
Normal Ben   Group Member
Dave Wibiski   Group Member
Matt Wedge   Group Member
Simon Bruyn   Group Member
Perry Foulke   Group Member
Jennifer Francis   Group Member
Cody Funny   Group Member
Chris Tzompanakis   Group Member
Ray Tombran   Group Member
Tim's Kids   Group Member
Anoushka Hajassaad   Group Member
Helen & Gord   Group Member
Lynden Hennessy   Group Member
Tammy Hennessy   Group Member
Joan Korner & The Women Of The Saint Stephens United Church   Vocals
Scott Korner   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ian Stanger   Group Member
Tracy Sproule   Group Member
Megan Meade   Group Member
Andrew Ledger   Group Member
Benjamin Perri   Group Member
Mike Pilato   Group Member
Connor Lovat Fraser   Keyboards,Group Member
Darren Malcolm   Group Member
Justin Malek   Group Member
Adam Mansbridge   Vocals
Jamie Parkhill   Group Member
Rob Pasalic   Keyboards,Group Member
Larry Pellizzari   Group Member
Jeff Davis   Group Member
Francis Mark   Group Member
Andy Lewis   Group Member
Dave Costa   Group Member

Technical Credits

Boys Night Out   Composer
Cory Kilduff   Layout Concept
Scott Korner   Producer,Engineer
Connor Lovat Fraser   Composer,Programming
Jeff Davis   Composer

Customer Reviews