Making Your Mind Up

Making Your Mind Up

by Jill Mansell
4.1 8

Paperback

$13.36 $14.85 Save 10% Current price is $13.36, Original price is $14.85. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Making Your Mind Up by Jill Mansell

Love is a complicated thing...

Lottie Carlyle is happy enough. Living in a beautiful cottage with her two adorable-sometimes-kids in an idyllic village, on good terms with her ex-husband, and with friends all around, everything is going just fine. But when she meets her new boss, her peaceful world is thrown into delightful, exciting, and frustrating chaos. Tyler is perfect for Lottie, but her kids do not agree. To make matters worse, the handsome and mysterious Seb appears on the scene, intriguing-and distracting-Lottie and charming her children, making it more and more difficult for her to make up her mind...

"Very nicely done... Jill Mansell's chorus of sharp-witted youth, shaking sticks at the foibles of their elders, is delightful." -Daily Express
"A smashing read that both delights and surprises the reader." —The Sun

Praise for Thinking of You:
"Mansell is like a Michelin-rated chef: She may use common ingredients, but under her sure hand the results are deliciously superior." -Kirkus
"Humorous, sometimes poignant... Her breezy style resembles that of Sophie Kinsella or Helen Fielding... readers will be delighted." -Booklist
"Jill Mansell combines, humor, friendship, romance and betrayal... keeps you wanting more." -Fresh Fiction
"Beyond the fun, faulted characters, Mansell has a gift for humorous and witty dialogue that will leave readers in stitches... Mansell excels at creating relationships that are dynamic and complicated." -Savvy Verse and Wit

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780755304912
Publisher: Gardners Books
Publication date: 07/31/2006

About the Author

With over 9 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella. She worked for many years at the Burden Neurological Hospital, Bristol, and now writes full time. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Making Your Mind Up 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The adult characters are likable but Lottie's kids are total brats who are cute when things go their way. Lottie doesn't know the meaning of discipline when they disrespect adults. It made me so angry it spoiled the book for me.
cupid92 More than 1 year ago
I love all Jill Mansell books. The characters are believable and the stories flow nicely. This one is no exception.  Highly recommend 
Elaine-bookworm More than 1 year ago
This is my least favorite of her books. Lottie's kids are total brats. One character wasn't needed at all by the time you get to the end of the book. You will question why he was even in it. Cressinda was my favorite and its a shame she wasn't the main character instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the chsracters and their journeyd that entwined
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the story and the characters. Very entertaining.
Jules_K More than 1 year ago
Intriguing plot with some surprising twists. Great charater development, I really cared about the characters and what happened to them. Descriptions of places brought them to life. Enjoyed every page, and recommend to anyone looking for a good read.
gaele More than 1 year ago
The first I have read by Jill Mansell, Making Your Mind Up is a re-release of a book initially published in 2006.  I’ve heard wonderful things about this UK author’s writing, so I couldn’t wait to dive in.  Lottie is a single/divorced mother of two, living in one of the more picturesque areas of England, the Cotswolds.   Mansell uses that sense of place and the uniqueness of life to ground the story in a way that is both familiar and  different.  With Lottie’s job comes a new opportunity in the form of her boss, Tyler.  He’s a wonderfully well-developed character and the potential for an epic love story is established.  But then, Lottie did what so many people do: she allowed her children (who aren’t particularly attractive in  behavior or approach) to dictate her life, far above and beyond their purview. They HATE Tyler, with few good reasons, and their constant sniping, sass and whinging have her capitulating to their desires in lieu of her own happiness.  I was so frustrated with her behavior, the bad example set for the kids by not requiring their atitudes adjust and they behave with proper manners, no matter their thoughts, that I was ready to strangle her.   And OH – I’ve been there – as a single mother you have to make relationship choices for you, while the kids are considered, it wasn’t as if Lottie was bringing in a string of men.   Then, not surprisingly, along comes another option in the form of Sebastian, and everything is wonderful and glorious. The kids love him and would sing songs and dedicate days in his honor if they could.  But things  aren’t quite right – in fact I found him a little “too” perfect, and that tiny voice deep down in Lottie’s head thinks  it too.  She still pines for Tyler and the fit that was their relationship, but doesn’t see a way to make it work.  Starting out with a bang, the story built a wonderful premise with characters that were complete and complex  with faults and fears mixed in with their good qualities. But somewhere in the late mid-point of the story, the characters started to behave in ways that were more exaggerated and caricature, less grounded in reality than I would have hoped for.  The funny thing is, that people DO often exaggerate qualities, or behave ridiculously, and there was a tenuous tether that kept me in the story as I needed to know just what Sebastian’s  major malfunction was.  With the addition of children, a series of mix-ups and a love that is not to be denied,  this was an interesting introduction to this author’s work and will have me adding more of her titles to my ever-growing TBR pile. I received an eBook copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 
My_Peace More than 1 year ago
Making Up Your Mind is a heart warming story that kept me engrossed, made me laugh, teared me up, and in the end made me feel good. I loved all of the characters in Making Up Your Mind.  Lottie is the main character who is so admirable and realistic.  I just really delighted in her character.  As an ex-wife she remains on friendly terms with her ex-husband and his girl friend, as a mother the kids come first...even at the cost of any relationships she might hope to develop.  I really felt for her as she struggled with her feelings for Tyler, her children's dislike of him, and her relationship with Seb...someone who's fun and makes her feel good but is not who she really wants to be with.  I actually didn't see where that relationship was going...and neither did Lottie!   As an employee and friend she is loyal and caring.  When her soon to be former employer and friend Freddie gives her a task that is also heart breaking in it's own way, she takes it on and does it.  This is a strong sub plot that continues through out Making Up Your Mind...one that needs mentioned but not given away because it is very relevant to the plot,  so real and it brought out strong emotions as I read.  I liked Freddie a lot and the relationship Lottie had with Freddie, the trust they had in each other and the obvious caring they felt for one another. For me Lottie was so believable and very entertaining!  " '...I'm not allowed to die of boredom because I have to be here pretending to be a supportive parent for the next six hours...' "  I felt like she could be my friend, someone I could easily spend time with and I liked her! There are a host of other secondary characters, some with strong secondary plots who tie in well with Lottie's life and are significant to the plot.  I enjoyed reading about these people as much as I did about Lottie. I also really liked the English village setting and Jill's descriptions of the place.  She made me want to go there myself and maybe have a swim in that lake! Making Up Your Mind has good flow, and Jill kept me absorbed in this story.  I'd highly recommend Making Up Your Mind to women's fiction/romance readers who want to be thoroughly entertained.