Man in Black: The Very Best of Johnny Cash [2002]

Man in Black: The Very Best of Johnny Cash [2002]

by Johnny CashJohnny Cash

CD(German Import)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


Picking up where the previous set left off, The Man In Black: 1959-1962 collects all of the recordings Johnny Cash made for Columbia between '59 and '62; the only music that was left off are his historical albums, which Bear Family had already released on Come Along on Ride Train. Like the other set, it has an abundance of alternate takes and outtake, plus a disc that captures an actual recording sessions. Again, it is primarily of interest for historians and dedicated fans willing to take the time to delve deeply into this music -- since the songs are presented in chronological order according to their session date, it doesn't make for casual listening.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/02/2002
Label: Columbia Europe
UPC: 5099750634523
catalogNumber: 506345
Rank: 75580


Disc 1

  1. Hey Porter
  2. Cry! Cry! Cry!
  3. So Doggone Lonesome
  4. I Walk the Line
  5. Get Rhythm
  6. There You Go
  7. Ballad of a Teenage Queen
  8. Big River
  9. Guess Things Happen That Way
  10. All Over Again
  11. Don't Take Your Guns to Town
  12. Five Feet High and Rising
  13. The Rebel-Johnny Yuma
  14. Forty Shades of Green
  15. Tennessee Flat-Top Box
  16. I Still Miss Someone
  17. Ring of Fire
  18. Understand Your Man
  19. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  20. Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)

Disc 2

  1. It Ain't Me, Babe
  2. Orange Blossom Special
  3. The One on the Right Is on the Left
  4. Jackson
  5. Folsom Prison Blues
  6. Daddy Sang Bass
  7. Girl from the North Country
  8. A Boy Named Sue
  9. If I Were a Carpenter
  10. Sunday Morning Coming Down
  11. Flesh and Blood
  12. Man in Black
  13. Ragged Old Flag
  14. One Piece at a Time
  15. (Ghost) Riders in the Sky
  16. Song of the Patriot
  17. Highwayman
  18. The Night Hank Williams Came to Town
  19. The Wanderer
  20. Man in White

Album Credits

Customer Reviews