Man on the Run [Deluxe Edition]

Man on the Run [Deluxe Edition]

by BushBush


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Gavin Rossdale harnessed the power of the '90s on the reconstituted Bush's 2011 comeback album, The Sea of Memories, hiring veteran hard rock producer Bob Rock to give the group a steely sheen. Sonically, the whole thing worked better than some of the records they made when they still were a going concern on the Billboard charts -- but the record didn't do much commercially, necessitating a change in direction for 2014's Man on the Run. Rossdale's Bush remains the same -- the only other surviving original member is drummer Robin Goodridge -- but the aesthetic has changed and so have the producers, with Nick Raskulinecz (Evanescence, Deftones, Foo Fighters) and Jay Baumgardner (Ugly Kid Joe, Papa Roach) getting the credits here. Man on the Run does indeed have a deliberately modern glint, one that incorporates burbling electronics, the occasional drum loop, and a heaping amount of gloss upon the grunge grind. As aurally busy as this production is -- and there are times where there's simply too much going on, the stuttering digital blips competing with the melodies, the riffs, the rhythmic wallop -- this album also houses some of Rossdale's strongest melodies in quite some time, songs that could pull in a AAA crossover if they weren't decked out in vaguely electronic hard rock clatter. This dissonance -- how the production pushes in an opposite direction than the tunes -- makes Man on the Run somewhat fascinating. [A Deluxe Edition added three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2014
Label: Zuma Rocks/Ral
UPC: 0888750165725
catalogNumber: 124

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bush   Primary Artist
Stephen Bradley   Horn
Robin Goodridge   Group Member
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Gavin Rossdale   Group Member
Chris Vrenna   Keyboards
Chris Traynor   Group Member
Corey Britz   Group Member
Cory Enemy   Keyboards
Gabriel McNair   Horn

Technical Credits

Jay Baumgardner   Producer
Gavin Rossdale   Composer,Executive Producer
John Ewing   Engineer
Julian Peploe   Artwork
Ross Garfield   Drum Technician
Nick Raskulinecz   Producer
Ryan Williams   Engineer
Josh Abraham   Producer
Paul Fig   Engineer
Pamela Hanson   Cover Photo
Kyle Hoffmann   Engineer
Avishay Shabat   Guitar Techician

Customer Reviews