Marc Blitzstein: His Life, His Work, His World

Marc Blitzstein: His Life, His Work, His World

by Howard Pollack


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780190280239
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 11/01/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 650
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Howard Pollack is John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Music at the University of Houston and author of, among other books, John Alden Carpenter: A Chicago Composer; Aaron Copland: The Life and Work of an Uncommon Man; and George Gershwin: His Life and Work.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: The Boy from Philadelphia
Chapter 2: Journeyman Years
Chapter 3: Early Works (1924-1929)
Chapter 4: Life with Eva, I (1929-1931)
Chapter 5: From is 5 (1929) to the Piano Concerto (1931)
Chapter 6: Life with Eva, II (1932-1936)
Chapter 7: Critical Writings (1931-1940)
Chapter 8: From the Serenade (1932) to The Chesapeake Bay Retriever (1936)
Chapter 9: The Cradle Will Rock, I (1936-7)
Chapter 10: The Cradle Will Rock, II
Chapter 11: From The Spanish Earth (1937) to Danton's Death (1939)
Chapter 12: No for an Answer (1937-1940)
Chapter 13: From Valley Town (1940) to Labor for Victory (1942)
Chapter 14: To London and Back (1942-1945)
Chapter 15: From Freedom Morning (1943) to the Airborne Symphony (1946)
Chapter 16: From Goloopchik (1945) to The Guests (1949)
Chapter 17: Regina, I (1946-49)
Chapter 18: Regina, II
Chapter 19: The Threepenny Opera (1950-54) and Other Adaptations
Chapter 20: Reuben Reuben (1949-1955) and This is the Garden (1956-1957)
Chapter 21: More Music for Shakespeare (1950-58)
Chapter 22: Juno (1957-59)
Chapter 23: Final Years, I (1959-1961)
Chapter 24: Final Years, II (1961-64)
Chapter 25: The Unfinished Operas

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews