Marconi and His Muses: A Novel Based on the Life of Guglielmo Marconi

Marconi and His Muses: A Novel Based on the Life of Guglielmo Marconi

by Pamela Winfrey


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


Born with an inquisitive imagination…

Brilliant inventor, electrical engineer, and wise entrepreneur, Guglielmo Marconi was best known for inventing long-distance radio transmissions and the telegraph system.

But his success wasn’t solely a product of his curious mind. Marconi attributed his prosperity to the people in his life who encouraged him to achieve his goals. Fostering his relationships with his mother, his wives, and other female friends allowed Marconi to grow and explore as an inventor without the fear of isolation, political disassociation, and covert racism hindering his dreams.

Although he spent most of his time spanning the globe and using the entire planet as his creative palette, the people he chose to associate himself with were critical to his well-being, his inventive nature, and his general physical and mental health. Without his close-knit relationships, long-distance transmission may have never come to fruition.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781947431058
Publisher: Mentoris Project
Publication date: 02/01/2018
Pages: 230
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

Pamela Winfrey is an award-winning writer and curator.
As a writer,she specializes in writing surreal plays for a thinking audience. She is especially interested in the relationship between theater, reality, science, surrealism and mental health issues. She has received funding from the Sloan Foundation and the Marin Arts Council and was a finalist at Arts and Letters. She won an award at the Method and Madness Festival in Denton, Texas, and her work received the Audience Favorite and Best Actress awards at Variations Theater in Manhattan. Her plays have been seen as far away as Toronto and Ireland. She was one of the founding members of Mobius Operandi, an electro-acoustic sound sculpture ensemble and performance company which produced five large-scale, walk-through, site-specific performance pieces in San Francisco.
As a curator, Pamela represented the United States in the Interactive Art Panel at Ars Electronica (Linz), was the lead curatorial consultant for Emerging Artforms for Creative Capital, and curated more than 100 exhibitions, performances, artworks, and installations at the Exploratorium in San Francisco, where she is senior artist emeritus. She was the co-curator for the West Gallery, a gallery which explores human phenomena, and curated "The Changing Face of What is Normal," an exhibition on mental health that was dear to her heart. She has a B.A. in theater, an M.A. in interdisciplinary arts, and is currently getting her M.F.A. in screenwriting from Stephens College.

Table of Contents


Prologue: July 20, 1937

Chapter One: The Boy Mirrors the Man: 1879

Chapter Two: Flying High: 1881

Chapter Three: The Dinner Plate Experiment: 1882

Chapter Four: The Metronome: 1883

Chapter Five: Turning Something into Something Else: 1884

Chapter Six: The Still in the Forest: 1886

Chapter Seven: Mother Knows Best: 1887

Chapter Eight: Playing with Poseidon: 1888

Chapter Nine: The First Lab: 1888

Chapter Ten: Daisy and Blood: 1888

Chapter Eleven: Nello’s Gift: 1888

Chapter Twelve: The Effect of the Italian Electrical Journal: 1894

Chapter Thirteen: The Shot: 1895

Chapter Fourteen: Out of Italy: 1896

Chapter Fifteen: The Patent: 1896

Chapter Sixteen: The Bell: 1896

Chapter Seventeen: The Bungalow at Stonehenge: La Calma della Mia Vita Ebbe Allora Fine (The Calm of My Life Ended Then): 1897

Chapter Eighteen: The Needles: 1897

Chapter Nineteen: The Regatta and the Queen: 1898

Chapter Twenty: It’s a New World in the New World: America, 1899

Chapter Twenty-One: In Love on Board: Josephine, 1899

Chapter Twenty-Two: The Three Dots: 1901

Chapter Twenty-Three: Inez: 1901 1903

Chapter Twenty-Four: Beatrice: 1904

Chapter Twenty-Five: Lucia: 1906

Chapter Twenty-Six: Degna: 1908

Chapter Twenty-Seven: Awarded: 1909

Chapter Twenty-Eight: The Little Boat: 1910

Chapter Twenty-Nine: The Unsinkable Ship: 1912

Chapter Thirty: Fiasco with a Fiat: 1912

Chapter Thirty-One: The Voice Was in His Blood: 1913

Chapter Thirty-Two: War and Marconi: 1914

Chapter Thirty-Three: Italy Goes to War: 1915

Chapter Thirty-Four: The End of Inez: 1916

Chapter Thirty-Five: War Ends, Something New Begins: 1919

Chapter Thirty-Six: The Blackshirts: 1920

Chapter Thirty-Seven: Cristina: 1925

Chapter Thirty-Eight: Lisa and Margherita: 1934

Chapter Thirty-Nine: The Attack: 1935

Chapter Forty: The Balcony: July 20, 1937

About the Author

Customer Reviews