Marigold Bakes a Cake

Marigold Bakes a Cake

by Mike Malbrough

Hardcover

$16.40 $17.99 Save 9% Current price is $16.4, Original price is $17.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19

Overview

For fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon... series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold's kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That's not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems' Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken.

Praise for Marigold Bakes a Cake

"This book contains the perfect recipe for fun. The watercolor illustrations are impeccable. . . This humorous book would be ideal for a storytime reading."—School Library Journal

"Malbrough’s watercolor illustrations are full of charmingly zany details, from dapper Marigold’s polka-dot bow tie to the chocolate splatters after the birds take over the cake making, and the creatures’ over-the-top facial expressions amp up the comedy. Playful rhymes and surprising page turns make this a great pick for a group storytime, and the comical ending . . . will be a valuable one for kiddos."—Booklist

"Debut talent Malbrough celebrates the act of culinary creation and the joy of being absorbed in a personal passion—and, like the best desserts, he doesn’t let his story get too sweet. In one of many lovely watercolor spreads, Marigold blends glossy curls of shaved chocolate and a ribbon of molasses into the batter. . . Doing what one loves, Malbrough shows, makes it possible to transcend even the basest instincts."—Publishers Weekly

"Clever text  follows the illustrations around the page, swirling with chocolate shavings and molasses as Marigold mixes his batter. The lush, textured watercolors match the energy of the story . . . Kids will giggle over the antics of both cat and birds during readalouds and will find plenty of humorous details to discover in the illustrations on their own."—BCCB 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781524737382
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 07/18/2017
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 1,220,667
Product dimensions: 10.10(w) x 11.10(h) x 0.60(d)
Lexile: AD560L (what's this?)
Age Range: 3 - 7 Years

About the Author

Mike Malbrough (www.mikemalbrough.com) was a freelance graphic designer, comic book artist, performer and teacher with a career spanning two decades before beginning his career as a picture book author-illustrator. He is the director of ORNG Ink, an after-school studio for young artists, and has received several awards and honors for his work in the community with children and teens. Mike lives in Orange, New Jersey, with his wife, two adventurous kids, and a cat named Agnes who hates him. Follow Mike on Twitter @studiomalbrough.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Marigold Bakes a Cake 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
LHK More than 1 year ago
Something new to discover with each fresh read Marigold is a very particular cat. And this very particular cat LOVES Mondays, because Mondays are for baking cakes! Alone. Without interruptions from loons, or pigeons, or finches! This book is hilarious for kids as well as adults as Marigold has a progressive meltdown at the hands, er, wings, of a bevy of bird friends. And there are so many details in the illustrations it bears repeated readings with something new to discover with each read.
WriterReaderHeather More than 1 year ago
The book begins: "Marigold liked everything just so. His fur was always well-groomed … and his calendar was sorted well in advance. Mondays were Marigold’s favorite. Because Mondays were for baking." As you can probably guess, this story chronicles one of Marigold’s Baking Mondays. He plans to bake a cake that is “fur-sheddingly fabulous!” But, things don’t exactly go as planned. Which, for a kitty who likes everything “just so,” is definitely NOT acceptable. Just how can Marigold bake his cake with smidgeons of pigeons and spoonfuls of loons getting in the mix? I won’t spoil the end, because this is a must-read. The text is fun and the illustrations are superb. From the cover to the title page to the end papers (always a favorite of mine), Mike Malbrough attended to every detail. I love Marigold’s home with retro-inspired kitchen, the cake designs, the birds’ chef hats, even Marigold’s fur. Best of all are Marigold’s expressions -- priceless! Run to your local library or book store. This one is a winner!