Marking Time (Treading Water Series, Book 2)

Marking Time (Treading Water Series, Book 2)

by Marie Force

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Her life was torn down to the foundation. Rebuilding will take one small miracle at a time.

The Treading Water Series, Book 2

"Marking Time" continues the story begun in "Treading Water" as Clare Harrington begins a new life. She's considered a miracle, but everything that's happened since she recovered from a three-year coma has been something less than miraculous. Now left to grapple with the aftermath of a selfless decision, she is home from the hospital and trying to figure out what the next chapter in her miraculous recovery has in store for her. Meanwhile, her eighteen-year-old daughter Kate, a talented singer and songwriter, sets out to pursue her musical dreams in Nashville. Her parents have agreed to allow Kate to spend a year there, but they couldn't have anticipated Kate falling in love with a much older man. Her newly divorced parents are forced back together to confront their wayward daughter. Spanning from Newport, Rhode Island, to Nashville, Tennessee, to Stowe, Vermont, "Marking Time" is the story of new beginnings and new loves.

Of "Treading Water," reviewers said:
"Treading Water is a definite must read! Treading Water creates an emotional firestorm within the reader. It shines the light on the good and the bad in life and proves that one moment can change everything and it's never too late to find love. Marie Force grabbed my heart and squeezed every ounce of emotion out of it but most importantly her monumental story left me blissful. Treading Water may be fiction but it gives me hope; hope in everyday people and happily ever after. I cannot wait for the next book in this trilogy, Marking Time." --Joyfully Reviewed, a "Recommended Read" for November!

"This isn't your typical romance where you're positive you're going to get the happy ending you were hoping for at the beginning. It will rip your heart out at times and having you weeping for joy at others. A stunning story about learning to love again and learning when to let go to those you love." --Night Owl Reviews, Reviewer Top Pick

The Treading Water Series
Book 1: Treading Water
Book 2: Marking Time
Book 3: Starting Over
Book 4: Coming Home

Product Details

BN ID: 2940013519305
Publisher: HTJB, Inc.
Publication date: 11/28/2011
Series: Treading Water Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 21,645
File size: 725 KB

About the Author

Marie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, including the indie-published Gansett Island Series and the Fatal Series from Harlequin Books. In addition, she is the author of the Butler, Vermont Series, the Green Mountain Series and the erotic romance Quantum Series. Duchess By Deception is the first in her new historical romance Gilded Series, that will continue with Deceived By Desire in September 2019.

Her books have sold 7.5 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list 29 times. She is also a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller, a Speigel bestseller in Germany, a frequent speaker and publishing workshop presenter as well as a publisher through her Jack’s House Publishing romance imprint. She is a two-time nominee for the Romance Writers of America’s RITA® award for romance fiction.

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news.

Join Marie’s mailing list on her website at for news about new books and upcoming appearances in your area. Follow her on Facebook at, on Twitter @marieforce and on Instagram at Contact Marie at .

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Marking Time 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 102 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read looking forward to next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
buddyds More than 1 year ago
This is a great series everyone sould read it
crjones More than 1 year ago
Love the characters developed in this series. Sad to see it end.
Cynthia181 7 months ago
Starting Again Two of the Harrington women need to find themselves. Kate is on her way to Nashville to start her music career but has a little hiccup. Claire needs to find her happiness after the divorce. She goes to oversee the makeover of her brother's house in Vermont and meets Aiden. He's the contractor doing the work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once I began the first chapter, I remembered the preceding story. A lot of times with these series books, I'm not interested in purchasing any further books. It was true with this series as the first book ended with enough of an ending to satisfy me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will keep you turning pages. I laughed and cried my way through it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the Clare and Aiden loved story. Good read couldn’t put it down. The love story between Kate and Reid was a bit much for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a stand alone or sequel this is a wonderful story. Well written, taking the reader on an emotional journey. I would like to believe people can be selfless and brave as the females in this familt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't stop reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clare's story is so tragic at the beginning and how she survives is a marvelous story. Terrific characters and a plot that is too real. Great writing by Marie Force, love this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good story w/heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the series of books because the storyline took you from on to the next. There was enough mystery to keep you digging into the story to find out what was happening next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MaggieSueMP More than 1 year ago
Loved it!  I will continue reading all the books in this series.  Marie Force is becoming one of my favs!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved Claire's story!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant wait for part 3!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved treading water and am 106 pages into Marking a Time. I love the authors style of writing and he way that the characters are well developed. I have to say that the relationship between  Kate  and Reid makes me really uncomfortable. I just can't help thinking  about the age difference and the betrayal that Jack...Kate's father... would feel. Maybe it will make more sense as the story plays out, but I just had to get that off my chest!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book even more than the first. I'm buying the third book in the series and can't wait to finish it.
Tinabooklover More than 1 year ago
As a voracious reader, I LOVE series. Marie Force has become a go to author for me. The story sucked me in and had me shed some tears, cheer and want to smack someone. That is what a good book does- it makes you feel something. I do have to suggest though- do not read this too late at night... it was VERY hard to put down and I have a book hangover today because I couldn't put it down last night - I "HAD" to finish it. LOVED IT!