Martha Argerich, The Collection, Vol. 4: Complete Philips Recordings

Martha Argerich, The Collection, Vol. 4: Complete Philips Recordings

by Martha ArgerichMartha Argerich


$40.77 $42.99 Save 5% Current price is $40.77, Original price is $42.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As Martha Argerich approaches her 70th birthday in 2011, Volume 4 in the Martha Argerich Collection is a testament to the beauty and skill of the pianist's performances. With earlier installments focused on solo recordings, concerto recordings, and chamber music, this edition is devoted to Argerich's complete recordings for the Philips label.

Here we find her in partnership with Stephen Kovacevich and Nelson Freire, with discs of two-piano and piano duet works. Also included are classic live recordings of the Tchaikovsky First and, above all, the Rachmaninov Third Concertos, with the Berlin Radio Symphony under Riccardo Chailly, as well as an inimitable Carnival of the Animals (with Freire, Kremer, Maisky, and others).

Works for cello and piano by Schubert and Schumann feature Mischa Maisky, and a 32-page color booklet includes a new liner note by Jed Distler. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2011
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947827467
catalogNumber: 001566002
Rank: 79456


  1. Dances of Galánta (Galánti táncok), for orchestra
  2. Concerto for 2 pianos, percussion & orchestra, Sz. 115, BB 121
  3. En blanc et noir, for 2 pianos, L. 134
  4. Variations (5) on an original theme for piano, 4 hands in G major, K. 501
  5. Sonata for 2 pianos & 2 percussion, Sz. 110, BB 15
  6. Variations on a theme of Paganini, for 2 pianos
  7. La valse, poème choréographique for piano or 2 pianos
  8. Suite No. 2 for 2 pianos in C major, Op. 17
  9. Stücke im Volkston (5) for cello (or violin) & piano, Op. 102
  10. Phantasiestücke (3 Fantasy Pieces) for clarinet (or cello or violin) & piano, Op. 73
  11. Sonata for arpeggione & piano in A minor ("Arpeggione Sonata"), D. 821
  12. Little Sad Sound for speaker & double-bass
  13. Tier-Gebete for speaker(s) & piano
  14. Ferdinand the Bull, for speaker & violin
  15. Carnival of the Animals, zoological fantasy for 2 pianos & ensemble
  16. Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
  17. Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23

Album Credits

Customer Reviews