Marty McGuire

Marty McGuire

Paperback

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Overview


A fun, accessible chapter-book debut from an exciting new talent--simultaneous hardcover-paperback launch!

Marty McGuire would rather spend recess catching frogs in the pond than playing dress-up with the other girls in third grade. So when her teacher casts Marty as the princess in the class play, Marty's absolutely, positively sure that there's been a huge mistake. But after a special lesson in the art of improvisation, Marty comes up with her OWN plan to IMPROVE the play: Why use stuffed-animal frog onstage when a live one would be so much better? In the end, Marty's one-of-a-kind performance makes for an unforgettable show. Maybe Marty CAN live happily ever after, after all!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780545142465
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 05/01/2011
Series: Marty McGuire Series
Pages: 144
Sales rank: 190,652
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 7 - 9 Years

About the Author


Kate Messner is the author of THE BRILLIANT FALL OF GIANNA Z., winner of the E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers; SUGAR AND ICE; EYE OF THE STORM; CAPTURE THE FLAG; SEA MONSTER'S FIRST DAY; OVER AND UNDER THE SNOW; and the Marty McGuire chapter book series. A former middle-school English teacher, Kate lives on Lake Champlain with her family and loves reading, walking in the woods, and traveling. Visit her online at www.katemessner.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Marty McGuire 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Booklady123 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From the back of the book:"That nice Mrs. Kramer lied to me about third grade. On the last day of school, she gave us cupcakes with sprinkles and little beach umbrellas and said have a super-duper summer and she'd wave to us in the hallway next year. She said third grade would be even more fun than second grade. She said we'd read bigger books and keep our old friends and make new ones and even get to be in the school play.None of it is true. Because Veronica Grace Smithers has stolen my best friend and taken over recess."In the tradition of Ramona, Clementine, and Judy Moody, Marty McGuire is quite a character. I loved this story. This is an excellent book for young readers who are ready to move beyond Junie B. Jones (parents will like Marty better than Junie.) Marty is a strong character who deals with the challenges of changing friendships, bossy classmates and the typical pitfalls of being a third grader. Marty's relationships with her friends and family are very realistic and will strike a chord in young readers.This is one of my favorite new finds! I can't wait to read more about Marty's adventures.Recommended for 3rd Grade and up.Mrs. Archer's rating 5 of 5!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
H
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 8 yr old granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed reading this and has re-read it more than more than once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A DECENT BOOK