Masterpiece (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Masterpiece (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Hardcover(Library Binding - THIS EDITION IS INTENDED FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY)

$18.40
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Use Standard Shipping ,  For guaranteed delivery by Dec. 24.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Masterpiece 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 118 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I hope evey one reads it! It is about a boy named James and a beetle named Marvin, who are best friends when Marvin makes James a pitchure of the outside of his window.... Well i don't want to tell any more so u just hae to read it. ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a total page turner and captures you into the story and keeps you wandering. I would reccomend this book as a Grade 4-5 kind of book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When a beetle named Marvin draws a picture for a boy named james as a birthday gift, the 2 of them meet,and become a funny pair. But when everyone thinks that James is the amazing artist, James and Marvin get tangled up in an odd mystrly.( sorry if I spelled mystry wrong) This great book is filled with fun and suprises that are sure to keep you on your toes!
Amy D'Alton More than 1 year ago
Just like the title,the book was a masterpeice : )
Pillboss More than 1 year ago
My 8yo son just finished this book and loved it. He found it adventurous.
Mother-Daughter-Book-Club More than 1 year ago
Masterpiece by Elise Broach is a delightful story of the unlikely friendship that develops between a lonely young boy named James and a beetle named Marvin. In the tradition of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and The Trumpet of the Swan, Broach takes this human/insect encounter out of the wild and into New York City, where Marvin lives with his parents and other relatives behind a kitchen cupboard in James's home.

The two characters meet when Marvin draws an ink rendition of the skyline outside James's window as a birthday present. When everyone thinks that James is the artist, of course he can't tell them who really drew what's being hailed as a masterpiece. The two are drawn into a staged art heist at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where officials hope to recover previously stolen masterpieces by a well known artist from the early Renaissance.

You'll happily follow the adventures as the two work to unravel the complications of their deception while they learn the true value of art and friendship. The publisher, Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, also features an excellent companion discussion guide on its Web site, www.HenryHoltKids.com.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it so quikly
BUSYMom10 More than 1 year ago
This book is GREAT!!! I purchased this book for my 10 year old son for his Nook, at his request. His 4th grade teacher had recommended this book to her class and for good reason. My son reads this story to me just before bed time, and I must say it is a very creative story that we are both enjoying very much!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good for any age!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in second grade in 2009 i think. Found it again three years later an i still liked it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I recomend it
ktpete More than 1 year ago
Best book
David Rubitski More than 1 year ago
This book is a cool page turning book! And its super fun to read! If you like nutmegs and you live in CT this is a 2011 nutmeg! so if you want to read all ten before 2012......GET READING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Masterpiece!  Masterpiece by Elise Broach, belongs to a special category. The book is a top 20 Bluestem book of 2015-2016, which is voted by kids. Kelly Murphy's illustration help with Broach's writing.          The book is about how there was a family of beetles living in a water-softened wall of the Pompaday's Upper East Side kitchen. The beetle family help the Pompaday's do work, such as find the mother of the Pompaday's family contact lenses and fixing their microwave. On every Tuesday, the family of beetles takes a family outing when the maid comes. My favorite character is Marvin, which is 1 of the 2 main characters. I like how he is a everyday sneaky beetle that soon turns into this full of curiosity beetle that wants to leave the apartment that he lives in.         One day it was the Pompaday's oldest son James’s birthday. The mother of the Pompaday's first husband came to give James his birthday present. It was a paint set, but he wasn't even into drawing! When the beetle family remembered James' birthday, the beetle family wanted to give something to James. They went in the mother's jewelry box to find a coin.           The next day when the Pompaday's were getting ready for church, Marvin, a beetle of the family, rolled the coin to James' room for his birthday present. While he was in the room he saw the paint set on James's desk. He painted a picture of the view outside the window. He was doing the finishing touches when James' woke up from bed. When James saw the painting he was astonished. He kept on saying who did this? When Marvin heard that he stepped out from his hiding spot and showed himself. After James realized he painted the picture, he was shocked. When the James’s family saw the painting, they thought James painted it and loved it. And that's how the story "Masterpiece" gets under way. This is a book that really soaks you in like a sponge after getting to the near middle of the story. I had to read it and I thought it was going to be one of those boring books, but as I went on I didn't want to check the clock or brush a bug off of me. I felt like I was in the book doing the actions of the words I was reading. I guarantee you if you're at a minimum of middle school and a maximum of a young adult, you are going to adore this lovely story. *4th grade student
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pooo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and you should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My boyfriend is in 11 grade at Pius X highschool and im in10 grade at Pius. His name is Thomas! Cute I know! He playes soccer and basecetball! He is 6 fet 5 in! Were perfect he has 7 siblins and I have 12 siblins. Dirty blonde hair and brawn eyes. I have had a crush on him sence I was 4. my family has know them a long time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand 3 times then repost this 3 times then Look under your pilow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gumm More than 1 year ago
'Masterpiece' by Elise Broach is a story about a boy who discovers the cockroach family living in his house has a son who harbors an amazing skill that no other insect can do -- drawing. But, it isn't just drawing, Marvin makes amazing pen and ink paintings, so much that he (or rather, James) is offered to remake a famous painting to prevent attempts to steal other artworks. As a cockroach, Marvin cannot tell James that the painting about to be stolen is the real one. This book, as the title states, is a masterpiece. The story is exciting and applies to all genders. Complete with action and adventure, this book is wonderful. Compliments to the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is about a beetle that can draw tiny pictures! It may sound stupid, but this book is a MASTERPIECE! I recomend this book to anyone, no matter what age they may be!!