Masterpieces: 1926-1949

Masterpieces: 1926-1949

by Duke Ellington


$28.49 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.49, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, March 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2001
Label: Proper Box Uk
UPC: 0604988992526
catalogNumber: 25
Rank: 50115


Disc 1

  1. East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  2. Birmingham Breakdown
  3. Black and Tan Fantasy
  4. Black Beauty
  5. The Mooche
  6. Awful Sad
  7. The Blues With a Feeling
  8. Misty Mornin'
  9. Flaming Youth
  10. Hot Feet
  11. Double Check Stomp
  12. Ring Dem Bells
  13. Old Man Blues
  14. Mood Indigo
  15. Rockin' in Rhythm
  16. Echoes of the Jungle
  17. The Mystery Song
  18. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  19. Lazy Rhapsody
  20. Creole Love Call
  21. Blue Ramble
  22. Ducky Wucky
  23. Eerie Moan
  24. Sophisticated Lady

Disc 2

  1. Slippery Horn
  2. Drop Me off in Harlem
  3. Daybreak Express
  4. Delta Serenade
  5. Stompy Jones
  6. Solitude
  7. Blue Feeling
  8. Saddest Tale
  9. Moonglow
  10. In a Sentimental Mood
  11. Showboat Shuffle
  12. Reminiscing in Tempo, Pt. 1-4
  13. Clarinet Lament (Barney's Concerto)
  14. Echoes of Harlem (Cootie's Concerto)
  15. Black Butterfly
  16. Caravan
  17. Azure
  18. Diminuendo in Blue
  19. Crescendo in Blue
  20. Stepping into Swing Society
  21. Lost in Meditation

Disc 3

  1. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
  2. Rose of the Rio Grande
  3. Pyramid
  4. Prelude to a Kiss
  5. Blue Light (Transblucency)
  6. Boy Meets Horn
  7. Slap Happy
  8. Serenade to Sweden
  9. The Sergeant Was Shy
  10. Jack the Bear
  11. Ko Ko
  12. Conga Brava
  13. Concerto for Cootie
  14. Cotton Tail
  15. Never No Lament (Don't Get Around Much Anymore)
  16. Dusk
  17. Bojangles
  18. A Portrait of Bert Williams
  19. Harlem Air Shaft
  20. All Too Soon
  21. Sepia Panorama
  22. In a Mellow Tone
  23. Warm Valley
  24. Across the Track Blues
  25. Day Dream

Disc 4

  1. Pussy Willow
  2. The Sidewalks of New York
  3. Take the "A" Train
  4. Blue Serge
  5. Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'
  6. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  7. Clementine
  8. Jump for Joy
  9. Chelsea Bridge
  10. Rain Check
  11. Perdido
  12. C Jam Blues
  13. Moon Mist
  14. What Am I Here For?
  15. Main Stem
  16. Johnny Come Lately
  17. I'm Beginning to See the Light
  18. Transblucency
  19. Lady of the Lavender Mist
  20. Sultry Serenade
  21. Air-Conditioned Jungle
  22. The Clothed Woman
  23. Snibor

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Ellington   Primary Artist,Piano,Tom-Tom,Talking
Lonnie Johnson   Guitar
Cat Anderson   Trumpet
Jimmy Forrest   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Hodges   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Ray Nance   Trumpet,Violin
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Rex Stewart   Conductor
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Cootie Williams   Trumpet,Vocals
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Tyree Glenn   Trombone
Taft Jordan   Trumpet
Louis Metcalf   Trumpet
Joya Sherrill   Vocals
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Bubber Miley   Trumpet
Ivie Anderson   Vocals
Jimmy Blanton   Bass
Wellman Braud   Bass
Sonny Greer   Drums
Hayes Alvis   Bass
Louis Bacon   Trombone
Harold Baker   Trumpet
Barney Bigard   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Harry Carney   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Kay Davis   Vocals
Jimmy Hamilton   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Shelton Hemphill   Trumpet
Freddie Jenkins   Trombone,Trumpet
Claude Jones   Trombone
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton   Trombone
Billy Strayhorn   Piano
Juan Tizol   Trombone,Vocals
Arthur Whetsol   Trumpet
Wilbur De Paris   Trombone
Wallace Jones   Trumpet
Duke Ellington & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Charlie Allen   Trumpet
Junior Raglin   Bass
Jungle Band   Track Performer
Billy Taylor   Bass
Freddy Guy   Banjo,Guitar
Baby Cox   Vocals
Francis Williams   Trumpet
Otto Hardwick   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Fred Avendorf   Drums
Mack Shaw   Tuba
Duke Ellington's Famous Orchestra   Track Performer
Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra   Track Performer
Duke Ellington & His Kentucky Club Orchestra   Track Performer
Harlem Footwarmers   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Frankie Laine   Composer
Lawrence Brown   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Will Hudson   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Joop Visser   Producer,Liner Notes
Sid Kuller   Composer
Hans Lengsfelder   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews