Match of the Day: The Album

Match of the Day: The Album


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Match of the Day: The Album

Packed full of stirring indie pop anthems, Match of the Day: The Album is the first release to coincide with the hugely successful football highlights program. Unlike many TV compilation tie-ins, the music featured is actually relevant to the show, with the majority of tracks having been used to accompany various title sequences and clips packages. Indeed, the likes of Lightning Seeds' "Life of Riley," Embrace's "Ashes," and Doves' "Black and White Town" have since become synonymous with breathtaking winning goals or world-class saves. Attempting to cover the whole spectrum of the beautiful game, Match of the Day is undoubtedly a compilation of two halves. The pulsating garage rock of the Gossip's "Standing in the Way of Control," Hard-Fi's thumping "Living for the Weekend," and Manic Street Preachers' string-laden epic "A Design for Life" all manage to capture the thrill and excitement of the U.K.'s number one sport. However, Athlete's somber piano-led "Wires," Travis' melancholic "Why Does It Always Rain on Me," and Glasvegas' haunting "Geraldine" appear to soundtrack the despair and disappointment most football fans feel, resulting in a strangely roller coaster listening experience. Considering the reputation of the football song genre, it's a wise decision to include just two of its most successful offerings. Lightning Seeds' "Three Lions" has become an alternative national anthem at England games thanks to its Brit-pop sound, optimistic lyrics, and singalong chorus, while New Order's dance-influenced "World in Motion," despite the John Barnes rap, still remains the greatest football song ever. With such a wide range of viewers, it's no surprise that the noughties-heavy first disc makes way for a more retro-sounding second, with Mott the Hoople's classic "All the Young Dudes," Undertones' anthemic "Teenage Kicks," and Primal Scream's gospel-tinged "Come Together" the highlights. But it's hard to see where the emo-pop of Metro Station's "Shake It" or Pulp's "Do You Remember the First Time" fits in with the theme of the album, while the overplayed likes of Nickelback's "Rock Star" and Ting Tings' "That's Not My Name" show a distinct lack of imagination. Overall, Match of the Day is a competent addition to the football compilation market. But with a track list that could have been pulled from any commercial rock radio station, it feels more like a safe mid-table also-ran than an exciting title chaser.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/08/2009
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0886975367023
catalogNumber: 7536702

Album Credits

Technical Credits

David Bowie   Composer,Producer
Joe Strummer   Composer
Steve Kipner   Composer,Producer
Phil Lynott   Composer
Keith Allen   Composer
Nick Banks   Composer
Garry Bonner   Composer
John Bradbury   Composer
Ian Broudie   Composer,Producer
Jarvis Cocker   Composer
Mark Coyle   Producer
Jerry Dammers   Composer
Candida Doyle   Composer
Terry Farley   Producer
Dave Fridmann   Producer
Bobby Gillespie   Composer
Lynval Golding   Composer
Alan Gordon   Composer
Stephen Hague   Producer
Andrew Innes   Composer
Mike Kemp   Producer
John Leckie   Producer
Owen Morris   Producer
Gil Norton   Producer
Horace Panter   Composer
Peter Perrett   Composer
Bill Price   Engineer
Russell Senior   Composer
Toby Smith   Producer
Stephen Street   Producer
Foo Fighters   Composer,Producer
Noel Gallagher   Composer
Mike Hedges   Producer
Guy Picciotto   Producer
John Squire   Composer
Jim Abbiss   Producer
Rich Costey   Producer
Ben Hillier   Producer
Mike Kroeger   Composer
Nick Raskulinecz   Producer
Jez Williams   Composer
Roddy Byers   Composer
Grant Nicholas   Composer
Ryan Hadlock   Producer
Nickelback   Producer
Chad Kroeger   Composer
Ryan Peake   Composer
Wolsey White   Producer
Jimi Goodwin   Composer
Andrew Frampton   Composer,Producer
James Skelly   Composer
Athlete   Composer
Richard Archer   Composer,Producer
Daniel Adair   Composer
Alex Kapranos   Composer
Nick McCarthy   Composer
Nathan Howdeshell   Composer
David Keuning   Composer
Mark Stoermer   Composer
Ronnie Vannucci   Composer
Blake Healy   Composer
Sergio Pizzorno   Composer
James Allan   Producer
McNamara   Composer
Chris Urbanowicz   Composer
Russell Leetch   Composer
Ed Lay   Composer
Jeffrey Saltzman   Producer
Kyle Falconer   Composer
Trace Cyrus   Composer
Mason Musso   Composer
Anthony Improgo   Composer
Ben Goldwasser   Composer
Andrew VanWyngarden   Composer
Irwin Sparkes   Composer
Alfonso Sharland   Composer
Martin Skarendahl   Composer
Katie White   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews