View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Matthew Arnold by Kenneth Farris Allott, Matthew Arnold

Praise for the Oxford Authors Series: I welcome the Oxford Authors series. Aimed at students and general readers alike, it should do much to turn students into general readers—and vice versa."—Christian Science Moniter
The Oxford Authors is a series of authoritative editions of major English writers designed for the student and general reader. Drawing on the best texts available, each volume contains a generous selection from the writings—prose, poetry, letters—to provide the fullest possible introduction to that writer's work and thought. Each volume is further complemented by essential notes, an introduction, chronology,and suggestions for further reading. This volume brings together the two sides of Matthew Arnold's literary achievement—the celebrated verse and prose. The first part presents Arnold's major poems, "Stanzas from the Grande Chartreuse," the love poems in the "Switzerland" and "Faded Leaves" sequences, several narrative poems, and his major elegies. The prose selections in part two, arranged in chronological order of composition, span Arnold's entire writing career, beginning with several lively letters from his early correspondence with Arthur Hugh Clough, to his very last essay, "Civilization in the United States." Throughout both the poetry and prose is heard the unmistakable voice of a man whom E.M. Forster aptly described as "a great poet, a civilized citizen, and a prophet."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780192813763
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication date: 01/01/1986
Series: Oxford Authors Series
Pages: 616
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.69(h) x 1.35(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews