Maugham: Collected Short Stories: Volume 4

Maugham: Collected Short Stories: Volume 4

by W. Somerset Maugham, Maugham. W. S.


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Maugham: Collected Short Stories: Volume 4 by W. Somerset Maugham, Maugham. W. S.

This final classic collection reveals Somerset Maugham’s unique talent for exposing and exploring the bitter realities of human relationships in tales of love, infidelity, passion and prejudice. The stories range from “The Lotus Eater” where a man envisions a life of bliss in the Mediterranean, to the astringent tales of “The Outstation” and “The Back of Beyond” in Malaya and South East Asia.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780140185928
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/28/1993
Series: Classic, 20th-Century, Penguin Series , #4
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 468
Sales rank: 662,409
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

W. Somerset Maugham (1874-1965) lived in Paris until he was ten. He was educated at King's School, Canterbury, and at Heidelberg University. He afterwards walked the wards of St. Thomas's Hospital with a view to practice in medicine, but the success of his first novel, Liza of Lambeth (1897), won him over to letters. Something of his hospital experience is reflected, however, in the first of his masterpieces, Of Human Bondage (1915), and with The Moon and Sixpence (1919) his reputation as a novelist was assured.

His position as one of the most successful playwrights on the London stage was being consolidated simultaneously. His first play, A Man of Honour (1903), was followed by a procession of successes just before and after the First World War. (At one point only Bernard Shaw had more plays running at the same time in London.) His theatre career ended with Sheppey (1933). His fame as a short-story writer began with The Trembling of a Leaf, sub-titled Little Stories of the South Sea Islands, in 1921, after which he published more than ten collections.

W. Somerset Maugham's general books are fewer in number. They include travel books, such as On a Chinese Screen (1922) and Don Fernando (1935), essays, criticism, and the self-revealing The Summing Up (1938) and A Writer's Notebook (1949). He became a Companion of Honour in 1954.   

Table of Contents

W. Somerset Maugham: Collected Short Stories Volume 4Preface

The Book-Bag
French Joe
German Harry
The Four Dutchmen
The Back of Beyond
P. & O.
The Kite
A Woman of Fifty
The Lotus Eater
The Wash-Tub
A Man With a Conscience
An Official Position
Winter Cruise
Princess September
A Marriage of Convenience
The Letter
The Outstation
The Portrait of a Gentleman
Raw Material
Straight Flush
The End of the Flight
A Casual Affair
Neil Macadam

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews