May God Avenge Their Blood: A Holocaust Memoir Triptych

May God Avenge Their Blood: A Holocaust Memoir Triptych

May God Avenge Their Blood: A Holocaust Memoir Triptych

May God Avenge Their Blood: A Holocaust Memoir Triptych



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


May God Avenge Their Blood: a Holocaust Memoir Triptych presents three memoirs by the Yiddish writer Rachmil Bryks (1912–1974). In "Those Who Didn't Survive," Bryks portrays inter-war life in his shtetl Skarżysko-Kamienna, Poland with great flair and rich anthropological detail, rendering a haunting collective portrait of an annihilated community. "The Fugitives" vividly charts the confusion and terror of the early days of World War II in the industrial city of Łódź and elsewhere. In the final memoir, "From Agony to Life," Bryks tells of his imprisonment in Auschwitz and other camps. Taken together, the triptych takes the reader on a wide-ranging journey from Hasidic life before the Holocaust to the chaos of the early days of war and then to the horrors of Nazi captivity. This translation by Yermiyahu Ahron Taub brings the extraordinary memoirs of an important Yiddish writer to English-language readers for the first time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781793621030
Publisher: Lexington Books
Publication date: 05/20/2020
Series: Lexington Studies in Jewish Literature
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 272
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Rachmil Bryks was author of seven Yiddish-language books and contributed extensively to the Yiddish press.

Yermiyahu Ahron Taub is a poet, writer, and translator, and is the recipient of the 2012 Yiddish Book Center Translation Prize and the 2014–2017 Modern Language Association’s Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize in Yiddish Studies.

Table of Contents

  1. Those Who Didn’t Survive
A Letter from Nobel Laureate S.Y. Agnon

  1. The Fugitives
My Sacred Obligation by Hinde Bryks

A Few Observations by Berl Kagan

1.This Is How It All Began


3.A Gas Nightmare

4.I Take Flight

5.Warsaw Bound

6.My Return to Łódź

7.In German Captivity

8.Theft, Torment, Murders

9.We’re Transferred to Germany

10. We’re Taken from the Camp—But Where?

11. In a Camp Near Kraków

12. In Camp Kobiezshin

13.Freedom Gained

14.In Skarżysko-Kamienna—New Troubles

15.In Koluszki

16.We Arrive in Łódź

17.At Home with Mordecai Gebirtig

18.Visit to Josef Wulf

  1. From Agony to Life
1.Deportation to Auschwitz

2.Transport to Germany

3.In Other Concentration Camps

4.The Wild Beast

5.The First Weeks

6.Laundry Day

7.A Gallows

8.New Germans, New Troubles

9. Episodes and Characters

10.Return to Camp Braunschweig

11.In Camp Wattenstadt

12.From “Switzerland” to a Death Camp

13.We’re Liberated

Papa, As I Remember Him by Bella Bryks-Klein

Rachmil Bryks: an Appreciation by Yermiyahu Ahron Taub

Dramatis Personae


Translator’s Notes

Translator’s Acknowledgments

About the Author

About the Translator

About the Author’s Daughter
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews