May the Road Rise to Meet You

May the Road Rise to Meet You

by Bill Cosgrove PhD


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 16

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781634925914
Publisher: Inc
Publication date: 08/30/2017
Pages: 140
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.33(d)

About the Author

Born in 1939 and raised in South Saint Paul, Minnesota, Bill Cosgrove was educated at St. Augustine Grade School, Cretin High School, and St. Thomas College in St. Paul. After teaching English at Cretin High School 1962-64, he earned an MA in English at Marquette University in 1966 and a PhD in English at University of Iowa in 1972. In 1970 Bill began a 36-year career at North Dakota State University as a Professor of English and sometime chair of the department for a total of 44 years as a teacher/professor of English. He retired in 2006. Bill is a dedicated reader and writer, retired year-round biker, avid if not fanatical tennis player, and incorrigible do-it-yourselfer. He remains unrepentant in these commitments. He also conducts origami workshops as Professor Origami, and is a longtime impersonator of Mark Twain in his one-man show An Evening with Mark Twain: 'The Trouble Begins at Eight.' 150 Mark Twain one-man shows and counting since 1983 in Minnesota and North Dakota. While visiting Ireland and Sligo Town with his wife and friends in 2001, Bill proudly confirmed and gloried in his 100% Irish heritage. After a DNA test in 2013 showed him to be only 88% Irish, he proudly confirmed and gloried in the power and persuasiveness of Irish blarney.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Accidental Assignation

Chapter 2: Accidental Assassination

Chapter 3: Past as Prelude

Chapter 4: Young Sarah

Chapter 5: A “Lovly Little Lake”

Chapter 6: Voices and Sumac Stories

Chapter 7: No Sanctuary

Chapter 8: Stockyards Boy

Chapter 9: The Killing Floor

Chapter 10: The Wild Heart of Life

Chapter 11: Sap and Trees

Chapter 12: The Hood

Chapter 13: Dispensations and Design

Chapter 14: Touch of a Father

Chapter 15: Mirror Image

Chapter 16: Jack Gibbons Mahoney

Chapter 17: Garden Variety Sins

Chapter 18: “Violators will be Prosecuted”

Chapter 19: Voices of the Dead

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews