Maythorn's Wish (The Fey Quartet, #1)

Maythorn's Wish (The Fey Quartet, #1)

by Emily Larkin

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


One wish could change her life forever.

Widow Maythorn Miller was young and beautiful once—until a brutal husband crippled her. But if her face is ruined and her body broken, she still knows how to love. For years her heart has yearned for a man she can never have: the village blacksmith, Ren. 

But Maythorn lives near the border with Faerie, a place where strange and unexpected things can sometimes happen...

Maythorn’s Wish is a magical and heartwarming tale of courage, love, and new beginnings. If you like your heroines strong, your heroes gallant, and your Faeries dangerous, you’ll love the Fey Quartet novellas!

(Maythorn's Wish is a novella of approximately 22,000 words.)

"Her haunting prose reads like Hans Christian Andersen for twenty-first century adults."
~ Mindy Klasky, USA TODAY bestselling author.

"A storyteller to watch!"
~ Nalini Singh, NYT bestselling author.

Q & A with the author

How would you describe the Fey Quartet novellas?

The Fey Quartet novellas are adult fairy tale romances. Each novella has a different feel to it--some are darker, some lighter. Maythorn’s Wish is an uplifting and emotional story about two people who’ve loved each other for years but have been unable to act on it. Themes are: unrequited love, friends to lovers, dreams come true, and new beginnings.

Who would like this quartet of novellas?

The Fey Quartet novellas are romances with strong heroines, a medieval backdrop, and a dash of magic. They will appeal to romance readers, especially those who enjoy medieval romances or fairy tale romances. Readers who like historical fantasy and fantasy with strong romantic elements would also enjoy the novellas. 

How would you describe your writing?

I’ve had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan, Mary Balogh, and Georgette Heyer, all of which are massive compliments. An editor once said my writing reminded her of Lois McMaster Bujold, but she was rejecting me at the time, so that was more of a bittersweet compliment! (That book did sell once I rewrote it; it’s one of my Emily Gee fantasy novels.) 

What order should I read the Fey Quartet novellas in?

Each novella can be read as a standalone, but I would recommend reading them in the following order for the best reading experience:

Maythorn’s Wish 
Hazel’s Promise
Ivy’s Choice
Larkspur’s Quest

The Fey Quartet novellas are the prequel to the Baleful Godmother historical romance series. The first six titles in that series are:

Unmasking Miss Appleby
Resisting Miss Merryweather
Trusting Miss Trentham
Claiming Mister Kemp
Ruining Miss Wrotham
Discovering Miss Dalrymple

Happy reading!

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153345642
Publisher: Emily Larkin
Publication date: 07/29/2016
Series: Fey Quartet , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 478,635
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews