McBusted [Deluxe Edition]

McBusted [Deluxe Edition]

by McBusted

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


McBusted [Deluxe Edition]

Since teen pop band Busted broke up in 2005, their friends and former tour buddies McFly have continued to release music, and it was during their tenth anniversary tour that the seed for the formation of McBusted -- and ultimately the creation of their first album together -- was planted. Boasting six members -- only former Busted member Charlie Simpson is missing from the supergroup -- the record is consistent despite the collaboration: songwriting and vocal duties are shared among the bandmembers, resulting in a cohesive, if a little predictable, listen. The only track that loses its focus is lead single "Air Guitar," which takes a distinctly Busted-esque verse and pairs it with a McFly-inspired pre-chorus, before the super cheesy chorus -- including the line "Jimmy Page and Brian May won't believe the way I play my Air Guitar" -- merges them together again. There is help from a few unexpected guests, with blink-182's Mark Hoppus providing vocals on the punk-splattering of "Hate Your Guts" that channels blink-182 circa 1999 in a more child-friendly way, while Weezer frontman Rivers Cuomo helped write the polished indie rock-inspired "Getting It Out." All Time Low's Alex Gaskarth left the mark of his band's American flavored pop-punk on "Get Over It" with a fist-pumping, singalong chorus that wouldn't sound out of place on a New Found Glory record. There is a lot that needs to be taken tongue in cheek on this record, however, where references to Miley Cyrus and a song titled "How's My Hair" make up the lyrical content, but they make for good pop songs and the combined experience and talent of McBusted have produced catchy hooks, earworm melodies, and memorable choruses by the bucket load here. They are capable of writing slightly serious and personal songs, too, with the rock ballad "Gone," as well as album highlight "What Happened to Your Band?" The latter track provides James Bourne and Matt Willis a platform to articulate their frustrations following the demise and subsequent fallout of Busted, revealing insight into the aggression that is rarely shown by either band; it even includes the odd curse. There have been expectations of McBusted since their formation, and while not groundbreaking, the six-piece have re-energized their sound, and subsequently their pop careers. [A Deluxe Edition added three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602547106940
catalogNumber: 5005206

Album Credits

Performance Credits

McBusted   Primary Artist,Vocals
Pete Whitfield   Strings
Mark Hoppus   Vocals
Alex Gaskarth   Vocals
Simon Turner   Strings
Sarah Brandwood-Spencer   Strings

Technical Credits

John Fields   Composer
Danny Jones   Additional Production
Steve Robson   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Mark Hoppus   Composer,Instrumentation
Rivers Cuomo   Composer
Michael Raphael   Composer
Tommy Henriksen   Composer
Mike Busbee   Composer
Matt Willis   Composer
Josh Alexander   Composer
Jason Perry   Producer
Ian Dowling   Engineer
James Bourne   Composer
Danny Jones   Composer
Tom Fletcher   Composer,Additional Production
Dougie Poynter   Composer
Harry Judd   Composer
Alex Gaskarth   Composer,Instrumentation
Espionage   Producer
Roy Stride   Composer
Sam Miller   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Editing
Josh Wilkinson   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Matt Prime   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Joe Kearns   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
McBusted   Instrumentation
Chris Stereo:Type   Vocal Editing
Jack Ruston   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews