Audiobook(Cassette - Unabridged)

$49.45 $54.95 Save 10% Current price is $49.45, Original price is $54.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

McNally's Alibi by Vincent Lardo, Adam Henderson

A mysterious collector, a missing manuscript, and a troika of lovely ladies challenge Archy McNally, south Florida's most famous Discreet Inquirer.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780792726265
Publisher: BBC Audiobooks America
Publication date: 07/28/2002
Series: Archy McNally Series , #11
Edition description: Unabridged
Pages: 8
Product dimensions: 4.80(w) x 9.02(h) x 1.29(d)

About the Author

After a successful career in advertising and public relations, Vincent Lardo now lives in the Hamptons. He is the author of The Hampton Affair and The Hampton Connection, as well as McNally's Dilemma and McNally's Folly.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Whatever you can say about the merits of Mr. Lardo's Archy McNally books, about one thing there is no room to quibble....at least in my opinion. I think the author who picks up the reins, so to speak, has a duty to not subtantially change what went before. I cannot get past the differences in virtually every character in the Archy McNally series. Mr. Lardo seems to have missed the boat on virtually every single character. It may seem like quibbling to many, but the very first Lardo-McNally I read had Simon Pettibone greet our hero as 'Archy' and in return be addressed as 'Simon.' Since Lawrence Sanders' Archy would virtually always address the 'bartender' as Mr. Pettibone, and in return be addressed as Mr. McNally, well, that was grating. Also, Mr. Lardo turned Archy's policeman friend Al into a hillbilly hick...far, far from the persona established by Mr. Sanders. He's turned Archy from an employee of his father's firm into a quasi private eye. He's kicked Connie out the door, elevated Ursi to centerstage and downgraded Jamie to supporting status, ignores Hobo 'the family dog' who had played an interesting role as a four-legged member of the family in the later McNally novels, etc, etc, etc. You may argue, if you wish, that novels need to grow and expand, but in my opinion if you are picking up a successful series, there is an obligation to keep the tone and flavoring of the series close to the original. The exchange mentioned between Archy and Mr. Pettibone may seem like a small thing to some, but it paints a picture of an author who either did not do his homework, or an author who feels no obligation to the originating author. I will not fault Mr. Lardo for being unable to duplicate the shoot-from-the-hip suave chatter which made the Sanders' books so delightful...few authors are capable to duplicating it. But, in my opinion, Mr. Lardo should respect the work of Mr. Sanders enough to at least not run roughshod over the established characterizations which made the original books so much fun.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Renowned collector Deci Fortesque hires Palm Beach private sleuth Archy McNally to find an alleged original complete text of Truman Capote's Answered Prayers. Archy quickly learns that Claudia Lester asserts that she possessed the manuscript, but her former lover Matthew Harrigan stole it from her. Matthew insists he took nothing and that Claudia is just a former lover causing him trouble.

Antiques dealer Rodney Whitehead informs the sleuth that neither Claudia nor Matthew is credible not that Rodney is any better. The search turns nasty when the supposed owner of the Capote manuscript is found dead in the sleazy Crescent Hotel not long after Archy visited the place. Police Lieutenant Georgia O'Hara knows Archy is holding out on her, but he refuses to reveal anything that might interfere with completing his client¿s assignment as the fee is too good.

When Lawrence Sanders died a few years ago and Vincent Lardo took over the McNally franchise, this reviewer howled about another series of lite books. Several novels later, this reviewer still howls that Mr. Sanders would have been proud to claim the Lardo books as his own. The latest MCNALLY¿S ALIBI is a strong novel containing an intriguing investigative story line and three women making Archy¿s life miserable in different ways. Fans of Mr. Sanders, McNally, or a strong private investigative novel will want to read Mr. Lardo¿s latest take and like this reviewer demand early release of another Arch book ASAP.

Harriet Klausner